Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Prescribed manual pressure setting vs Auto
#11
I am getting my AHI closer to 2 (trending). But here is what I am finding:
my ideal pressure is between 4-6. My DME keeps remotely resetting auto to 5-20. If my pressure goes above 8 I never sleep well. Is it unusual to need such a low pressure? My worst nights (AHI) is when it pressure ends up around 10-13. I am wondering if this happens when I am congested (I have a lot of allergies).


I am happy when I get around 6 hours on therapy. I hope to get closer to 8 as I fine tune the system.

Side Note: I have been using a dreamwear for past few weeks. I might like it better than Wisp.
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
As mentioned before, your best bet would be to post some of your nights of data so that the experienced folks here can give you some more fine tuned advice. Really until they see the data, they can't tell you too much.

Look at my signature below for information on where to download the Sleepyhead software and how to arrange your graphs.

Good luck in your journey and kudos to you for taking an active role in your own health!
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
Sleepyhead Data:
Good night http://imgur.com/a/HMkNQ
Bad night: http://imgur.com/a/EB8Op

I am trying to figure out what auto range is ideal or if there is something else I should tweak!
Post Reply Post Reply


#14
What are you using for a Flex setting?
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
Whatever happened to the concept of informed consent? Advise your DME in writing that you do not consent to any remote changes to your machine and if they ignore this advice you will report them to the medical board.

And as others have said, just pull the modem out of the machine. It's yours - you can do what you like with it.
DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
I've been using aflex 3. I just changed to aflex 2 about a week ago, and it doesn't seem to be much different for me
Post Reply Post Reply


#17
If your machine has an airline setting, that turns off the modem so the DME can't adjust the settings. You may need to bring the card in to the doc's office to have the data reviewed, but it keeps the control in your hands.
                                                                                                                                                                                  
Please organize your SleeyHead screenshots like this.
I'm an epidemiologist, not a medical provider. 
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
As I understand it, you can pull out your modem so your DME and dr cannot remotely change things. You can choose to put in your modem when you want to (ie: for 10 minutes 1x/month) to allow your data to upload to them as you see fit. (And then maybe double check your settings to see if anything was changed.)

From what I've read in the manuals, the bluetooth setting is separate from the modem. I believe you do NOT need the modem plugged in in order for you to access your DreamMapper info on your phone/tablet.

Overall, you could put it in airplane mode to shut off both the modem and the bluetooth, and then turn off airplane mode to enable the modem to transmit and the bluetooth to transmit... and then turn airplane mode back on.

Personally, I've pulled my modem AND I have bluetooth off (I don't use DreamMapper).
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
Hydrangea is right. You don't need the modem in order to use DreamMapper. My DME took my modem after I proved compliance to my insurance company. It had been rented.
Post Reply Post Reply


#20
at this stage I am mostly trying to figure out my ideal settings. Range seems to be 4-9 (maybe a bit less). I posted a couple images of a representative GOOD and BAD night. Anyhow - I love the collaborative feedback here. I hope I can help others too!
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Why is that at the same setting two masks feel different pressure TimtheEnchanter 0 12 31 minutes ago
Last Post: TimtheEnchanter
  [Equipment] Heated hose setting ruiparede 7 218 12-08-2017, 02:06 AM
Last Post: Ghost1958
  Dreamstation ASV Ipap setting RLSdss 3 166 12-05-2017, 07:43 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  which setting helps with mouth puffs? Help me 7 242 11-29-2017, 03:05 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Isn't Resmed's Expiratory Pressure Relief really Inspiratory Pressure Support?? Reznik 116 2,507 11-27-2017, 07:28 PM
Last Post: Reznik
  DreamStation Go setting suggestions coming from an S9? epicycloid 6 266 11-21-2017, 01:31 AM
Last Post: David Govan
  REMstar SE service manual Baretty 7 240 11-16-2017, 08:26 PM
Last Post: Gary1of2

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.