Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Night number on CPAP
Night number on CPAP
I have a million questions. Definitely a mixed bag for me, but on balance, I guess I did pretty good? I have no idea if my experience is typical or atypical.

I decided to try it out for about 10 minutes in the late afternoon. I laid down, had no trouble putting on my mask. And the sensation of air into my nose didn’t bother me at all. I really thought at that point that this was going to be some kind of miracle for me.

It was a little bit different when I had to sleep with it the entire night. I really had no mask problems at all. I definitely had a good seal. And the seal was not impacted by my sleep positions. Maybe I’m lucky in that regard.

I also used a chinstrap and had no problem with it at all. Another stroke of luck.

A few things surprised me. Number one is that I still woke up many times throughout the night. But maybe I woke up for a different reason? Previously I assume my wake ups were after an apnea event. But I don’t know. I was kind of surprised that I was still waking up. Maybe this time though I was waking up just because of the mask. I’m really not sure, but this was probably my biggest disappointment. I was really hoping to just sleep through the night, or at least large chunks. That didn’t really happen.

My other big disappointment is OMG does it hurt my nose. That was a surprise because when I tested it out it didn’t hurt at all. But the accumulation throughout the night starts to really make it hurt for me. My nose just feels sore. Is this going to change? Or this the price I pay?