Post Reply 
[Pressure] Air Push Frequency Problem w/ Respironics machine
Author Message
richarddoss Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Philips Respironics
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: Philips System One
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Air Push Frequency Problem w/ Respironics machine
I changed the humidity level on my CPAP machine and must have inadvertently changed another setting. Now, the frequency with which the machine pushes are increased so that it pushes air at least twice between each breath I take. this made it nearly impossible to get to sleep. What setting do I need to reset in order to to decrease the frequency of air being pushed by the machine (not the volume of air as I know how to set that)? Thanks.
09-02-2013 02:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: Air Push Frequency Problem
Not quite sure what you mean. I am going to change your subject line so Respironics users will see this.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-02-2013 03:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Air Push Frequency Problem w/ Respironics machine
Hi richard,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
09-02-2013 03:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #4
RE: Air Push Frequency Problem w/ Respironics machine
I'm thinking the problem could be that you accidentally turned C-Flex on. This is assuming that it was off to begin with. This is just a guess. Do you know if it was turned on to begin with and can you check to see if it is turned on now?
09-02-2013 04:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,907
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #5
RE: Air Push Frequency Problem w/ Respironics machine
(09-02-2013 02:13 PM)richarddoss Wrote:  I changed the humidity level on my CPAP machine and must have inadvertently changed another setting. Now, the frequency with which the machine pushes are increased so that it pushes air at least twice between each breath I take. this made it nearly impossible to get to sleep. What setting do I need to reset in order to to decrease the frequency of air being pushed by the machine (not the volume of air as I know how to set that)? Thanks.

Hi richarddoss, welcome to the forum!

Perhaps you turned on Flex (C-Flex or A-Flex or whatever it is called on your machine). Flex can be set from zero (off) to 3.

The higher the Flex setting, the more the machine lowers the pressure during the early portion of exhalation. The pressure quickly returns to full pressure before we are finished exhaling. At first it feels like we are only half-way through exhalation when the pressure rises, as if the machine were trying to make us inhale too soon. Later, we get used to it and it doesn't bother us.

Flex can be terribly annoying at first, so I think it is best to start with Flex setting of 1, increasing 1 step at a time after we have become accustomed to it. Although the pressure relief is only during a portion of our exhalation, it can help make exhaling easier and can reduce leaks and can reduce the amount of air we swallow.

After treatment on ResMed machines for several years, I had a follow-up titration which used Respironics equipment. I had been used to Exhalation Pressure Relief (EPR) on ResMed machines. EPR does not return to full pressure until after inhalation actually starts. EPR is much more comfortable than Flex. Flex drove me crazy. I absolutely hated that Flex was turned on and demanded that it be turned off so I could get to sleep.

Actually, Respironics had a good reason to design Flex the way it did (returning to full pressure before we have finished exhaling). Apneas are most likely to start immediately after the end of exhalation, and because Flex returns to full pressure before we have stopped exhaling, using Flex does not increase the likelihood of having an apnea.

Although ResMed's EPR is more comfortable, with EPR the pressure remains low at very vulnerable times (end of exhalation and early start of inhalation). EPR can increase the number of apneas we have, unless we are using an auto-adjusting "APAP" model. (An APAP machine with ResMed EPR will sense obstructive events and will automatically adjust the pressure to whatever is needed, automatically compensating for however much EPR is being used, just like it is compensating for changes in sleep position, stage of sleep, etc.)

I think most people consider ResMed EPR a feature which can be adjusted purely for best comfort, even on CPAP machines, but some sleep doctors don't trust EPR and keep the feature disabled. Personally, if I were using EPR on a CPAP model rather than on an APAP model, I would increase the CPAP pressure setting to compensate for the amount of EPR being used.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 09-02-2013 05:02 PM by vsheline.)
09-02-2013 04:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,989
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #6
RE: Air Push Frequency Problem w/ Respironics machine
(09-02-2013 02:13 PM)richarddoss Wrote:  I changed the humidity level on my CPAP machine and must have inadvertently changed another setting. Now, the frequency with which the machine pushes are increased so that it pushes air at least twice between each breath I take.

I see from your profile that you're using a Respironics machine. But which one? Did you change the flex setting?

Quote:What setting do I need to reset in order to to decrease the frequency of air being pushed by the machine (not the volume of air as I know how to set that)? Thanks.

You know how to set the volume?! Are you referring to the pressure setting?

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-02-2013 06:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] Respironics blower failure SleepyinMTL 2 98 Yesterday 12:52 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 19,969 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  Problem with DreamWear Mask Judy1843 5 273 11-30-2016 04:03 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,270 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 20 987 11-20-2016 08:07 AM
Last Post: Rcgop
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 289 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] ResMed Air Sense 10 Auto Off Problem Buddie43 16 3,228 11-12-2016 02:51 PM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)