Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Pressure] Centrals increasing; new to BiPap
Centrals increasing; new to BiPap
I am new to BiPap;  started around 5 weeks ago with pressures of 10 / 25.   When I was diagnosed I had 53 events / hour, 8 of them were "Centrals".  When I started therapy, I evidently had massive air leaks, which weren't noticed for 2 and 1/2 weeks.  I thought it was leaking only now and then, but according to the sleep tech, the leaks were so bad that the therapy was useless.  So, he worked with me so that the leaks for the last 2 and 1/2 weeks have been within guidelines.  

My "events" during the first 2 and 1/2 weeks were averaging about 15 / night with 4 centrals.  Then for the next week, after fixing the leaks, according to Sleepyhead, I had about 15 / hour with 12 centrals.

Last week, the sleep doctor changed my readings (she was going by the ResMed software, which showed more AHI obstructive events than centrals) to 11 / 18.  Now, I'm having around 21 events / hour, almost exclusively centrals.  

The sleep doctor is looking at my data every two weeks, which won't occur for another 7 days.  How do I reduce the centrals in the meantime?  In looking at other suggestions on these forums, it states that the EPAP should be lowered to lower the number of centrals.  So, why was mine raised?

I should also note that this doctor, who is fully certified, works in a sleep lab only 1 day / week.  The rest of the time she's a family physician.  I am a little worried about the whole situation, especially since I'm going night after night with these centrals occurring.

Advice appreciated!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Centrals increasing; new to BiPap
You need to give some more information on your settings.