Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Pressure] Confused
Confused
Hi all, I am fairly new to this and thought someone could explain my confusion about my pressure. I am 7 to 12 which I guess is working OK based on my 'score' on MyAir. (I tried to get SleepyHead but there was a problem and it wouldn't download. Will soon be getting a new computer and will try to get the program then.) My AHI was 57 (so 'very severe') but according to 'MyAir' things are going well and I am usually under 3 AHIs every night with not too much leaking with my nasal pillows. (Average about 6.)
But here's the question: I start out the night in a semi-reclined position watching TV. I fall asleep in that position and will wake up around 2:00 am and switch to my side.When I am watching TV I check my pressure and it gets to 7 and stays there for awhile. But then before I go to sleep I'll look again and it's at 11.7. Why would it go up while I'm still awake and am obviously not experiencing any apnea events. It makes me wonder if it's even working right, but according to 'MyAir' and my doctor everything is dandy. Any thoughts? (I love this forum.) SleepyTimeGal
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Confused
Everything probably is dandy. As you rest watching TV, you are relaxing. Likely you are getting some flow limitation which is a signal to increase pressure.
Watching TV is not the best sleep hygiene. Too much blue light in the eye.

Now, watch an episode of 24... I bet you won't relax watching that show. Big Grin
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply