Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Pressure] New CPAP user. Need some advice.
Question 
New CPAP user. Need some advice.
First off let me say hi to everyone here.

In June I had a sleep study where my AHI was 47. It was determined that I was to have a Phillips DreamMachine set to a constant pressure of 14.  I've been using the DM for about 2 months and my AHI on average is around 7-8.  I've had a few in the 4-5 range and a few in the 10-13 range.  After some reading on this forum I decided to try Auto mode.  The first night I set the min to 10 and the max to 16.  My AHI was 5.3.  The next night, thinking more pressure is better, I changed the settings to 12 and 20.  My AHI was 8.5.  My mask fit is always 100% btw.

The question I have is Auto mode the best mode to use as opposed to a constant pressure?  I would like to get my AHI down to a fairly consistent 5 or less.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New CPAP user. Need some advice.
Hi streetwolf.  Welcome to the Apnea Board.  Let me be one of the first to ask you to install the Sleepyhead software and download your data so that you can post images in this thread,  You will find instructions in my signature.  Your willingness to make adjustments shows that you will eventually get this under control.  Without being able to look at the data it is nearly impossible to make further recommendations.  You might not even have the right machine.  Another thing you want to tell us is the results of your sleep study.
Stick with us and you will figure this out.

Rich
Apnea Board Member RobySue has posted a Beginners Guide to Sleepyhead Software here:  http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...SleepyHead

Download Sleepyhead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Post images

Post Reply Post Reply