Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Pressure] Resmed S9 pressure
#1
Resmed S9 pressure
Sorry if this is a repeat question but I could not find an answer here.
My question is; what is a good beginning pressure for the S9 machine. I found it was at 12 and just dialed down to 8. I have had it for years at that preset pressure and would get terrible dry mouth even with a chin guard. Nose pillows used. Rarely used the machine because of this problem that is now solved, but I have to wonder about the lowest pressure that can be used. Dunno why none of my providers have ever said to set it at this setting. I can use it every night now. Tried at 9 and would start getting dry mouth and remove the device in the middle of the night. Thank you so much for any answers. Yes I will make an appointment with my provider soon after this Covid19 thing has cooled down.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Resmed S9 pressure
G'day dannymontani. Welcome to Apnea Board.

Your simple question leads to a whole lot of other questions.. Smile

Have you had a diagnostic sleep test to establish your baseline apnea? If so what were the results?

Have you had a titration test, where you slept with the machine on and the technician adjusted the pressures? If so, there should have been a prescription issued - what does it say?

Final question, which particular model S9 do you have? The model name is printed right on the machine near the power button. It's usually something like Escape, Elite or AutoSet. It could be one of the VPAP series. It's important to know this as each machine has its own setup parameters.

Once you have all those answers, I'm going to suggest one thing further - download and install OSCAR. This is software to help analyse your results and optimise your therapy. Without it, we are largely guessing if we made any recommendations. You can find the Oscar links in my signature below, and make sure there is an SD card in your machine.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Resmed S9 pressure
Thanks for your response to me.
I have not had a sleep test in 5 years, should go get another I suppose. I don't have the results.
Titration test, no.

I have a Resmed S9 autoset machine.
I have set the pressure to 8.4 finding that any higher gives me extreme drymouth so I tear it off during the night.
I see an AHI....using OSCAR.....thank you, of 0.29
Hypopnea  index of 0.10

I just would like to know what the lowest pressure is that I can safely run at. Lower than what I am at now would be great.
Thanks again.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Help Changing from CPAP (fixed pressure) to Resmed AutoSense 10 for Her donrigney 9 1,409 05-24-2020, 02:42 PM
Last Post: donrigney
  Is expiratory pressure relief similar to BiPAP on lower pressure settings? drmaestro 11 856 05-18-2020, 01:35 PM
Last Post: Gideon
  Dream station APAP uses less pressure than ResMed AirSense APAP? mjrPdqkLguUgGLE 5 578 01-06-2020, 02:05 AM
Last Post: jaswilliams
  [Pressure] Difference between EPAP set pressure and operational pressure brugerard 8 930 01-02-2020, 10:03 PM
Last Post: brugerard
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 menu item: Pressure Relief vs. EPR darianmiller 6 4,445 07-04-2019, 07:39 PM
Last Post: ericxob
Question 90% Pressure meaning & Setting Correct Pressure for Auto-CPAP dk2011 2 1,860 12-28-2018, 05:37 PM
Last Post: Gideon
  Do I need to tweak pressure on Resmed 10 Nightynite 5 767 11-20-2018, 08:15 PM
Last Post: Nightynite


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.