Post Reply 
[Pressure] S9 CPAP
Author Message
SleepyTime Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed-Quattro FX
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #1
S9 CPAP
First let me thank you for making available the software and PDF files with information I couldn't find anywhere else.

Having used a Medicare issued CPAP for about 3 years, I finally shelled out $999 for the S9 with H5i to get the air required and not a steady stream at 10cmH2O as prescribed with the CPAP.

Here's what I don't get. When I bought the S9, the tech at the store set it Low 5 and High 14. As I look at the pressure line, it starts at about 5 then climbs within 30 minutes or so to about 14 and stays there until I wake up...often 4 to 5 times a night. Each time when I go back to sleep, the same pressure climb.

To see whether the pressure was "stuck" I increased it several times over a few nights up to 16 cmH2O. Each time the pressure would climb to the max set point and remain there unless I had a big leak from my MirageFX full face mask.

I though the pressure would vary with my demand?
Could the S9 sensors be defective. Electronics do fail as we all know.
Any similar experience?

Btw thanks to the software I now know I have obstructive, central sleep apnea and hypopnea often in one night. Sometimes just hypopneas.
Only the pressure stays at the max!
(This post was last modified: 02-17-2013 02:59 PM by SleepyTime.)
02-14-2013 08:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: S9 APAP
what S9 do you have
next to power button, should say Elite, Escape, AutoSet

sound like the machine set at 14 constant pressure with ramp set at 5 for 30 mins
when ramp time expired, the pressure increase to set pressure and stay there all night or if machine switched off for any reason during the night

Edit: as you can see data, you should have either S9 AutoSet or S9 Elite
(This post was last modified: 02-14-2013 08:28 PM by zonk.)
02-14-2013 08:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SleepyTime Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed-Quattro FX
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #3
RE: S9 APAP
(02-14-2013 08:22 PM)zonk Wrote:  what S9 do you have
next to power button, should say Elite, Escape, AutoSet

sound like the machine set at 14 constant pressure with ramp set at 5 for 30 mins
when ramp time expired, the pressure increase to set pressure and stay there all night or if machine switched off for any reason during the night

Edit: as you can see data, you should have either S9 AutoSet or S9 Elite

It's an Autoset
(02-14-2013 08:45 PM)SleepyTime Wrote:  
(02-14-2013 08:22 PM)zonk Wrote:  what S9 do you have
next to power button, should say Elite, Escape, AutoSet

sound like the machine set at 14 constant pressure with ramp set at 5 for 30 mins
when ramp time expired, the pressure increase to set pressure and stay there all night or if machine switched off for any reason during the night

Edit: as you can see data, you should have either S9 AutoSet or S9 Elite

It's an Autoset

Actually ramp time is set at 5 minutes
(This post was last modified: 02-14-2013 08:47 PM by SleepyTime.)
02-14-2013 08:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,453
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: S9 APAP
Hi SleepyTime,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang tight for more responses to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy and the new machine.

trish6hundred
02-14-2013 09:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #5
RE: S9 APAP
Hi SleepyTime and
Welcome


(02-14-2013 08:10 PM)SleepyTime Wrote:  First let me thank you for making available the software and PDF files with information I couldn't find anywhere else.

Having used a Medicare issued CPAP for about 3 years, I finally shelled out $999 for the S9 with H5i to get the air required and not a steady stream at 10cmH2O as prescribed with the CPAP.

Here's what I don't get. When I bought the S9, the tech at the store set it Low 5 and High 14. As I look at the pressure line, it starts at about 5 then climbs within 30 minutes or so to about 14 and stays there until I wake up...often 4 to 5 times a night. Each time when I go back to sleep, the same pressure climb.

To see whether the pressure was "stuck" I increased it several times over a few nights up to 16 cmH2O. Each time the pressure would climb to the max set point and remain there unless I had a big leak from my MirageFX full face mask.

I though the pressure would vary with my demand?
Could the S9 sensors be defective. Electronics do fail as we all know.
Any similar experience?

Btw thanks to the software I now know I have obstructive, central sleep apnea and hypopnea often in one night. Sometimes just hypopneas.
Only the pressure stays at the max!

What is your AHI? Are events spread out fairly evenly? Does the pressure start raising as soon as you turn the machine on (discounting ramp, of course), or after you've fallen asleep? When was your last sleep study? Was it an in-lab study?

The reason I ask is because you say you've used CPAP for about three years. I'm assuming that means that your sleep lab titration was 3 years (or more) ago. A lot can change in 3 years and, unfortunately, OSA can get worse with age. Also; I believe, and this is just my opinion, that in-lab titrations often lead to less than optimal pressure, as the discomfort of the environment can lead to a lighter sleep and less relaxation.

If the AutoSet doesn't start raising pressure until you are asleep (not counting the ramp) and your AHI is high (above 5) and the apneas and/or hypopneas are spread out; then the AutoSet might be doing the best job it can within the limits it has been given. Your pressure needs may be greater than what has been estimated.

Have you considered setting the top end at 20cmH2O and seeing what happens? If the machine is not malfunctioning it will not go any higher than what is needed.

Before doing this though, I would shut the ramp off and wear the mask with the machine on while awake for a little while to make sure the pressure doesn't raise when you know it isn't getting any signs of apnea/hypopnea or snore. If it raises pressure while you are awake and not snoring, etc., then the machine is probably defective and should be replaced - it should still be under warranty.
02-14-2013 09:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #6
RE: S9 APAP
(02-14-2013 08:45 PM)SleepyTime Wrote:  Actually ramp time is set at 5 minutes

There comes a time with some of us where the ramp is more of a hassle than a benefit.
Okay
02-14-2013 10:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
aehjr Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 92
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Colorado

Post: #7
RE: S9 APAP
(02-14-2013 10:01 PM)Ugly Wrote:  There comes a time with some of us where the ramp is more of a hassle than a benefit.
Okay

Agree. I turned mine off because it was more of an annoyance than a help.
02-14-2013 11:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SleepyTime Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed-Quattro FX
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #8
RE: S9 APAP
(02-14-2013 09:52 PM)jgjones1972 Wrote:  Hi SleepyTime and
Welcome


(02-14-2013 08:10 PM)SleepyTime Wrote:  First let me thank you for making available the software and PDF files with information I couldn't find anywhere else.

Having used a Medicare issued CPAP for about 3 years, I finally shelled out $999 for the S9 with H5i to get the air required and not a steady stream at 10cmH2O as prescribed with the CPAP.

Here's what I don't get. When I bought the S9, the tech at the store set it Low 5 and High 14. As I look at the pressure line, it starts at about 5 then climbs within 30 minutes or so to about 14 and stays there until I wake up...often 4 to 5 times a night. Each time when I go back to sleep, the same pressure climb.

To see whether the pressure was "stuck" I increased it several times over a few nights up to 16 cmH2O. Each time the pressure would climb to the max set point and remain there unless I had a big leak from my MirageFX full face mask.

I though the pressure would vary with my demand?
Could the S9 sensors be defective. Electronics do fail as we all know.
Any similar experience?

Btw thanks to the software I now know I have obstructive, central sleep apnea and hypopnea often in one night. Sometimes just hypopneas.
Only the pressure stays at the max!

What is your AHI? Are events spread out fairly evenly? Does the pressure start raising as soon as you turn the machine on (discounting ramp, of course), or after you've fallen asleep? When was your last sleep study? Was it an in-lab study?

The reason I ask is because you say you've used CPAP for about three years. I'm assuming that means that your sleep lab titration was 3 years (or more) ago. A lot can change in 3 years and, unfortunately, OSA can get worse with age. Also; I believe, and this is just my opinion, that in-lab titrations often lead to less than optimal pressure, as the discomfort of the environment can lead to a lighter sleep and less relaxation.

If the AutoSet doesn't start raising pressure until you are asleep (not counting the ramp) and your AHI is high (above 5) and the apneas and/or hypopneas are spread out; then the AutoSet might be doing the best job it can within the limits it has been given. Your pressure needs may be greater than what has been estimated.

Have you considered setting the top end at 20cmH2O and seeing what happens? If the machine is not malfunctioning it will not go any higher than what is needed.

Before doing this though, I would shut the ramp off and wear the mask with the machine on while awake for a little while to make sure the pressure doesn't raise when you know it isn't getting any signs of apnea/hypopnea or snore. If it raises pressure while you are awake and not snoring, etc., then the machine is probably defective and should be replaced - it should still be under warranty.
Thanks, I'll report in more detail tomorrow. Tonight I'll turn the ramp time off. Then after my final wake-up, I'll stay awake in bed for 20 minutes and then see what the pressure line shows.
02-15-2013 12:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: S9 APAP
(02-14-2013 08:45 PM)SleepyTime Wrote:  Actually ramp time is set at 5 minutes
5 mins ramp is not going to make much difference other than for me, would feel not getting enough air at such low start

S9 Autoset increase pressure in response to snoring and flow limitation
pressure increase can trigger problems to some people
such as aerophagia, discomfort during the night which can lead to feeling lousy during the day

its been suggested that if maximum pressure used for more than 10% of therapy time, may indicate that maximum should be increased providing leak is under control but if central events showed up than pressure should be decreased
its about compromise, pressure to control apnea without inducing centrals, comfortable enough to keep the mask all night every night
02-15-2013 03:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #10
RE: S9 APAP
I can look at my graphs and tell when I fell asleep. It will be a relatively flat line at 12 (my beginning pressure) then will jump up to 15 or 16. It will then slowly settle down and look like ocean waves for the rest of the night.

If your machine is going to the maximum you have set and then not moving the entire night, something is wrong with the machine. Or the pressure is too low. What is your AHI?

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-15-2013 03:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)