Post Reply 
[Pressure] Should I take the card out???
Author Message
sleeplurker Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed Air Curve 10 ASV
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: built in
CPAP Pressure: 6/12/13
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Should I take the card out???
Turns out my machine settings are 16/12. Had a sleep study it showed that at 20/16 it wasn't able to control my apneas, but I did feel somewhat better that night. Had another sleep study on an asv machine and I'm waiting for the results of that..... which the doctor told me that I'll probably be using a new asv machine.
In the meantime while I wait I'm going to change the pressure settings on this old machine slowly up to 20/16 and see what happens.
My question is this, should I leave the card in the machine when I do this..... I'm concerned with the card in that it will just reset the settings. It's the old respironics bipap st with the big type of card, machine is over 5 years old, got it used.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!

SleepLurker
STOP THE SNORE !!!!!
03-01-2015 08:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mr. Van Winkle Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 256
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 9 -15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Minnesota

Post: #2
RE: Should I take the card out???
(03-01-2015 08:42 AM)sleeplurker Wrote:  Turns out my machine settings are 16/12. Had a sleep study it showed that at 20/16 it wasn't able to control my apneas, but I did feel somewhat better that night. Had another sleep study on an asv machine and I'm waiting for the results of that..... which the doctor told me that I'll probably be using a new asv machine.
In the meantime while I wait I'm going to change the pressure settings on this old machine slowly up to 20/16 and see what happens.
My question is this, should I leave the card in the machine when I do this..... I'm concerned with the card in that it will just reset the settings. It's the old respironics bipap st with the big type of card, machine is over 5 years old, got it used.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!

Leave the card in , it will show your new settings, but It won't default to your old setting, it just simply stores data.
Sleep-well
03-01-2015 10:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,057
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #3
RE: Should I take the card out???
Leave the card in. If there are commands on there (no idea if PR machines do that), it is when you put it back in or the power is restored that it rewrites the settings.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-01-2015 02:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: Should I take the card out???
On newer PRS1 models, the DME/doctor can optionally set the SD card to lock the settings. They don't usually do it, and you can fix it by taking the card out.

I don't know if the old cards can do this.

It's probably not a problem. You might just try it. Make your changes, save them, then take the card in and out, and power the machine on and off, and see if they change back.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
03-01-2015 05:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,375 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider
  Downloading data to SD card of Resmed for nights that SD card not in ResMed machine Robert6 8 4,902 06-19-2015 09:28 AM
Last Post: estgad
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 3,775 04-06-2014 08:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)