Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Pressure pulses
#1
I have been seeing pressure pulses in my waveform data. What are they?

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
The PR machines send out pressure pulses to test whether the airway is open or obstructed.
From my understanding, it then flags the event based on that determination.

Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Whenever apnea is detected, the machine uses small pressure pulses to determine whether apnea is obstructive or central




Post Reply Post Reply


#4
From the help section of DreamMapper

An apnea is detected when there is an 80% reduction in airflow from a baseline for at least 10 seconds if there is no airflow detected for 10 seconds. During the apnea, one or more pressure test pulses are delivered by the device. The device evaluates the response of the patient to the test pulse(s) and assesses whether the apnea has occurred while the patient has a clear airway or an obstructed airway. The airway is determined to be clear if the pressure test pulse generates a significant amount of flow; otherwise the airway is determined to be obstructed. When the airway is clear then a Clear Airway Apnea event is recorded.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
That makes sense. They occur mostly around apnea events, but I have seen some in sections of the waveform in which no events were recorded. In those cases I did notice that the pulses were at the end of a wave form that looked a lot like an apnea event, only shorter.

Thanks for your quick responses.

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
You are probably confusing the hunt-n-peck generated pressure changes used by Philips respironics machines (go up about 1.5cm pressure in 2 minutes and come back down to original pressure in next 2 minutes). These are not 'pressure pulses'. Those can not be seen on pressure graph because they are less than a second in duration and can only be seen as tick marks on the event graph.
Started APAP 4-20, Closed range to 7.5-14, then straight 8.0 w/ Aflex 3
RDI always below 1. But sleep much much better at straight pressure.
Started on F10, Tried Quattro Air successfully. Finally settled on P10.
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] Disconcerting pressure pulses between breaths on Dreamstation Pro Johnbrooking 23 834 01-15-2017, 06:14 PM
Last Post: Johnbrooking
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,928 11-10-2016, 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
Gross [Pressure] Pressure pulses driving me insane blannan 4 554 09-28-2016, 08:53 PM
Last Post: Want2SleepInMT
  Lower max pressure affecting pressure increases Rcgop 9 898 07-17-2016, 07:03 PM
Last Post: green wings
  I pressure/E pressure - cause/cure - on CAs Rcgop 1 649 06-17-2016, 08:47 PM
Last Post: richb
Gross treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure debby2242 24 2,247 04-03-2016, 01:34 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  ResMed Airsense 10 pulses as if something hit the hose? Ed1101 39 2,993 03-24-2016, 05:21 AM
Last Post: Asjb

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.