Post Reply 
[Pressure] setting autoset s9
Author Message
samer sultan al ajami Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: resmed s9 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 4-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
setting autoset s9
My dr advised me to set my pressure to 10, i am using a Resmed Autoset S9, i trying to look in the setup but was not able to find where i can adjust the pressure, any clue?
09-19-2012 02:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: setting autoset s9
(09-19-2012 02:13 AM)samer sultan al ajami Wrote:  My dr advised me to set my pressure to 10, i am using a Resmed Autoset S9, i trying to look in the setup but was not able to find where i can adjust the pressure, any clue?
[Image: s9-pic1.jpg]
[Image: s9-pic2.jpg]
http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup


The S9 provider manual is available via Email (section three)
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual
09-19-2012 02:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Allen Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 96
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX with SeaTec chin strap
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8.0 to 18.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post: #3
RE: setting autoset s9
I have just started using a ResMed S9 autoset as well, I downloaded the clinicians manual that Zonk has given you the link to and found it very easy to follow.
I have changed my machine setting from auto to cpap so I could set a fixed pressure of 10 as per my prescription, after I see my sleep specialist in November I will experiment with auto settings to see what difference it makes to my sleeping
09-19-2012 05:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DoneDunIt Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western NC

Post: #4
RE: setting autoset s9
I just started using an ResMed S9 AutoSet. I had been using a FP for over 7 years. It was left unlocked and I was able to adjust the pressure on my own with out having to "Break Into" the Machine. I was was going up and down around the 10 setting. My first night I set it to have a high of 14 with a low of 6. Fist night was better than any other night I had had with the FP. My report had me at a high of 10.5 and I noticed that it stayed on the low of 6. I decided to lower the low to 4 and the high to 12 the next night and try out an old Nasal Pillow. I worked OK to start the night. I awoke after about 4 hours of sleep and had a discomfort from the pulling pressure on my Nose. I decided to go back to the Nasal Mask for the rest of the night. Last night was my third night using the and I rose the lower back to 6. I have felt better today all day long than any time in the last 15 years.

I was hoping someone could chime in and tell me if I would be better off raising the lower all the way up to 8?

I am glad I found this Board. Thanks to reading over the past 2 weeks I have found what I needed to help me get started in the right direction.
09-21-2012 02:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: setting autoset s9
(09-21-2012 02:51 PM)DoneDunIt Wrote:  My first night I set it to have a high of 14 with a low of 6.
Welcome to forum
You cannot keep changing, leave it for a while. You need more than one night to evaluate whats going on. Whenever you change the mask from nasal to nasal pillows also change the correct mask type setting on the machine. Post some ResScan stats and chart graphs (pressure, leak, AHI)
09-21-2012 03:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
dfhudson53 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2012

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-18
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: wine-maker, Guillain-Barre patient

Sex: Male
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post: #6
RE: setting autoset s9
I would be inclined to set the low end at 4 or 6 - whatever level seems comfortable initially, and leave the upper end higher than you would expect to need. The S9 will adjust the pressure to whatever minimum level is required to prevent sleep interruption events, within the limits set.

Some folks seem to want to set narrow limits on their Auto machines, but that has never made much sense to me. To me, the point of having an Auto-adjustable machine is to allow it to adjust as needed. I'm usually between 12 and 17 or so - it fluctuates, and the pattern varies from night to night. My low end is set to 7, as initial pressures below that make me feel like I'm not getting enough air through the mask. Once I'm asleep, though, it's pretty much always over 10. My inclination is to set the upper limit at 20 (the machine's maximum), since the machine is only going to get that high if it thinks I really need it. I'd rather give it the option to do its best, rather than set arbitrary limits. Even the highest setting isn't likely to harm me, as far as I can tell. And if I don't need the pressure that high, the machine won't go there.

That's my two cents. :-)
09-21-2012 04:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: setting autoset s9
(09-21-2012 04:07 PM)dfhudson53 Wrote:  Some folks seem to want to set narrow limits on their Auto machines, but that has never made much sense to me.
I think the minimum pressure ought to be doing its job preventing run the mill type apnea and higher to deal with nasty types sleeping on my back or break up clusters in deeper sleep. In my case centrals are not an issue but I've a reason to believe in certain situations the machine keep maxing up the pressure in response to flow limitation so for me its a trade off and a lower pressure means less side effects like congestion and leaks which also in turn can max up the pressure. My 2 cents Too-funny
09-21-2012 04:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #8
RE: setting autoset s9
(09-21-2012 02:51 PM)DoneDunIt Wrote:  I was was going up and down around the 10 setting. My first night I set it to have a high of 14 with a low of 6. Fist night was better than any other night I had had with the FP. My report had me at a high of 10.5 and I noticed that it stayed on the low of 6. I decided to lower the low to 4 and the high to 12 the next night and try out an old Nasal Pillow. I worked OK to start the night. I awoke after about 4 hours of sleep and had a discomfort from the pulling pressure on my Nose. I decided to go back to the Nasal Mask for the rest of the night. Last night was my third night using the and I rose the lower back to 6. I have felt better today all day long than any time in the last 15 years.

Stop changing the pressures. You cannot go by nightly data. Each night is different. What you did, what you ate, the stress level or the lack of stress, what you drank, it all fits into a night's sleep. Which is why you need to wait for a trend, not a night to night change. It won't work.

You need to make a change then wait about 2 weeks. Look at the data trend and then make another change if necessary. Keep a sleep log as well, to track when you made a change and what the change was.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-21-2012 07:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #9
RE: setting autoset s9
(09-21-2012 04:07 PM)dfhudson53 Wrote:  Some folks seem to want to set narrow limits on their Auto machines, but that has never made much sense to me. To me, the point of having an Auto-adjustable machine is to allow it to adjust as needed. I'm usually between 12 and 17 or so - it fluctuates, and the pattern varies from night to night. My low end is set to 7, as initial pressures below that make me feel like I'm not getting enough air through the mask. Once I'm asleep, though, it's pretty much always over 10. My inclination is to set the upper limit at 20 (the machine's maximum), since the machine is only going to get that high if it thinks I really need it.

Don't you use the ramp feature? That's basically what you are doing when you make the pressure so low, far lower than what you need.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-21-2012 07:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 176 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 294 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Need help with mask setting please trader37 3 284 11-03-2016 02:34 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Any setting changes when adding O2 to CPAP Ham Radio 2 182 10-28-2016 11:54 PM
Last Post: Ham Radio
  [CPAP] Setting up this auto a-flex is really intimidating. SierraMadreMe 6 381 10-27-2016 04:25 AM
Last Post: SierraMadreMe
  setting for starting choce Bill Hall 2 216 10-26-2016 08:20 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [How to] Dreamwear mask setting on A10 sonicboom 4 346 10-21-2016 08:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)