Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Problem adapting to ResMed Airmini
Problem adapting to ResMed Airmini
Good morning everyone. First time I'm posting and I would like to know if anybody could help me with a problem I'm having after buying a Resmed AirMini. I am having a lot of problems adapting to the new equipment even though the settings are the same as my previous one (Resmed S9 Autoset).

I have been using the Resmed S9 for 6 years on autoset mode, pressure 6-10, no ramp and APE at 3 (pressure reduction on exhale). I use a nasal mask (Respironics Wisp). Everything perfect, I love it. Then last week I bought an AirMini with the Resmed N20 nasal mask and got it set up with the same settings. When I tried to use it for the first night, I could not fall asleep for 2h (normally it does not take me 10 minutes) and had to go back to the S9 to be able to sleep. I would feel the air flow too strong, specially by the end of my exhale (as if I could not get all the air out of my chest before it started blowing strongly again) or when I was about to fall asleep (I would suddenly wake up with the machine making those strong periodic gulfs of air). Inhale was also uncomfortable, I felt like there was too much air coming in and had some headache.

I tried to make changes on most of the settings to check if it would improve, but none of them made the Airmini to feel nearly as comfortable as the S9. The difference was brutal (not the speak about the noise, which I'm disregarding for now). Things I tried:

- Reduce minimum pressure to 4: it helped but still not close to the comfort of the S9.