Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Problem w/ air leakage
Problem w/ air leakage
I have been using my cpap mask for over 10 years. I have the breeze w/ the nasal pillows and I love it. All of a sudden though, i'm having problems with it. It started w/ air coming out of the nose. I've been piecing mine together and finally got a new mask. Same problem. I taped a strap under the part that holds the pillows and brought it up to the top of my head. that stopped the leaking out of the nose. but....

I'll be laying there sleeping and I make this god awful loud noise out of my mouth that wakes my hubby and I up and scared the heck out of me. It's like a vibration, or something coming from near the corners of my mouth. I shut my mouth tight and lay there waiting for it to happen again. It does. I don't understand after all these years why this is happening. the noise I make would win first prize in a burping contest!! It's that bad... Helppppp.... please. thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Problem w/ air leakage
Hi Purplkoala,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
You might want to try a chinstrap, to see if that will help you keep your mouth closed.
Hang in there for more suggestions and best of luck to you as you continue CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
That does sound like your mouth is coming open. It also sounds like maybe you are more congested right now than perhaps you have been in the past. Are you having any particular allergy issues? You might try a saline nasal rinse before you shut down for the night. And if necessary, as Trish suggests, try a chinstrap gently applied (the idea is to "encourage" you jaw to stay forward and your mouth to stay shut, not to force anything.)

...and welcome to our little world of happy campers!
Post Reply Post Reply