Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Problem with Autosense 10 central apnea detection
Problem with Autosense 10 central apnea detection
I am new to the whole APAP thing, first week. Just got a AutoSense 10 and sleepyhead. The problem is whenever I doze off and transition from awake to asleep, I unvoluntarily stop breathing for more than 10 secs and the machine flags an apnea event. It then proceeds to pulse the pressure and then categorizes it as a clear airway event. Whenever it does that, the sudden change in pressure arouses me and prevents me from falling asleep so I stay awake like that for a few hours till I give up and remove the mask. My sleepy head reports only show multiple clear airway events, whenever I try to unsuccessfully fall asleep.

I understand from other posts here that being still conscious, these apnea events are not significant but the problem is the AutoSense doesn't know that and doesn't allow me to even fall asleep. I am now torn between trying to tough it out and try to accustom my brain to this unwanted waking stimulus or return the machine and try to use one that doesn't have any central apnea detection but from what I read, most new comfortable machines seem to have this pulse technology and I really feel comfortable with all the other features (APAP, EPR etc...). Has anybody ever solved this problem or have any suggestions?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Problem with Autosense 10 central apnea detection