Post Reply 
Problem with SD card
Author Message
vvitug Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NYC

Post: #1
Problem with SD card
Just downloaded the software then tried to grab the data from the sd card. Got an "error during download" message.

Previous to this, I had to pull out the sd card from the S9 for it to work. Called my equipment provider and was told that it was not important and to keep the sd card off.

Will a reformat of the sd card clear up the problem? If so, is there any special reformatting tool I should use or will a simple os reformat work? I am running on XP but can access Win7 and Win8 if needed.

Or should I get a new sd card?

Thanks
08-20-2013 07:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Paptillian Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 474
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 10, EPR x2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post: #2
RE: Problem with SD card
(08-20-2013 07:00 AM)vvitug Wrote:  Called my equipment provider and was told that it was not important and to keep the sd card off.

It's not important to them (all they care about is your compliance data which is stored on the machine) but it's very valuable to you, obviously.

Sounds like the card is corrupted. I haven't tried this personally, so there's my disclaimer:

You should be able to reformat the card using your computer. Since the data is lost anyway, there's no harm in trying. Just right-click on it (in Windows) and click "format." Use the default settings. Then unplug the S9, put the card in, and plug it back in. If it still can't recognize the card, then there's probably something wrong with the card.



**Update**

Some more info. My own SD card (the one that shipped from ResMed) is formatted as FAT32, so that's the officially supported filesystem type to use. The device name is "RESMED" in caps. Its size is 2Gb (unformatted). This card has been in use for two months now.

[Image: S9_SD_card.png]
(This post was last modified: 08-20-2013 09:28 PM by Paptillian.)
08-20-2013 08:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #3
RE: Problem with SD card
Probably a corrupted or bad card. Format it on any computer - it doesn't really matter how it is formatted because the S9 will just have to format it again - then put the card back into your S9. The S9 screen should either tell you it formatting or ask if you want it to (I forget which). Choose "yes" if given that option. Then you should be good to go. If this doesn't work, then you either have a bad card or there is something wrong with the card reader/writer in the S9 unit.

Just to be sure, you don't have the lock tab set on the card do you? Check to make sure the little white slider tab is set to the unlocked position. Also, are you sure you have the right card? It must be a plain old SD card - if it is a ResMed brand SD, then you can be pretty sure you got the right one. If it isn't ResMed, then you have to make sure you don't have a new fangled High Capacity card - some don't work.

If DME said it's not important - that's kind of like a car salesman selling you a car with no turn signals or headlights saying they aren't important.

Make them straighten it out - either a new card if that's the problem or new machine if that is. ResMed has a 2 year warranty.
08-20-2013 09:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vvitug Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NYC

Post: #4
Smile RE: Problem with SD card
The reformat worked. The SD card is a 1GB from ResMed. Followed the suggestion of FAT32 and labeled it RESMED although it appeared to be initially FAT with no label.

The S9 did not reformat the SD. It simply created a DATALOG directory and dumped tgt, crc, etc files onto the SD card root.

Thanks for everybody's help. I suppose I am getting too cautious in my old age. Normally, I would have simply reformatted the SD and then fix whatever happens if things go south. This time, I thought it might be more prudent to ask first, before shooting.

Interestingly, though. I posted a similar query on the ResMed support site the same time I posted on this forum and I am still waiting a reply from them.

Again, thanks a lot.
08-22-2013 07:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Paptillian Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 474
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 10, EPR x2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post: #5
RE: Problem with SD card
Glad it's working!
08-24-2013 09:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vvitug Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NYC

Post: #6
RE: Problem with SD card
SD card failed after two days. Was unable to reformat again using Windows XP. Called provided and asked for a new SD card which they sent after a little hemming and hawing.

New SD card has been working fine for several days now.
09-02-2013 08:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
elmerjay Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: HSi
CPAP Pressure: 17
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: Problem with SD card
After a reformat, how do you get the data from the S9 copied to the SD?
03-07-2015 08:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,296
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #8
RE: Problem with SD card
(03-07-2015 08:23 AM)elmerjay Wrote:  After a reformat, how do you get the data from the S9 copied to the SD?

Hi Elmerjay, welcome to the forum.

When you insert the card in the S9 it will automatically write the data back to the card - you don't need to do anything else.

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-07-2015 08:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
frankresmeds9 Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: Res Med S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: New York

Post: #9
RE: Problem with SD card
My SD card crapped completely. Computer will not even read it. Have another card that I put in the S9 Elite, but it looks like I have lost a weeks worth of data. Does anybody know how else to get that data out of the machine. I have the attachment on the machine that sends the data to the provider of the machine using the cell phone network. Does anybody know if there is any way that you can read what is sent over the cell network.
03-07-2015 10:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #10
RE: Problem with SD card
The machine rewrites the "compliance" data, i.e. on/off times, back to the card. Some or all of the other data will not be restored.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
03-07-2015 12:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Long time CPAP user now with a problem PrkChps 4 54 Today 06:21 PM
Last Post: chill
  Problem with DreamWear Mask Judy1843 5 287 11-30-2016 04:03 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,301 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 20 1,009 11-20-2016 08:07 AM
Last Post: Rcgop
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 299 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] ResMed Air Sense 10 Auto Off Problem Buddie43 16 3,256 11-12-2016 02:51 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
Gross RERA Problem SideSleeper 24 1,027 11-02-2016 04:11 AM
Last Post: holden4th

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)