Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Health] Apneas & GERD (Reflux)
Idea 
Apneas & GERD (Reflux)
I'm a newbie having used my APAP for only about a week but my GERD seems to have improved. I thought about the situation and it made sense to me that having a positive pressure in my upper body may help keep the reflux from rising, so here is a link (one of many) that states there seems to be mostly positive outcomes for GERD sufferers when using CPAP.
http://www.webmd.com/heartburn-gerd/news...eases-gerd

Some comments on other links state that CPAP can also have the opposite effect. What do memberss of this forum think? better still can we hear of some personal experiences or debate as I am becoming aware of other unintentional benefits.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Apneas & GERD (Reflux)
At nine months of Cpap I had no idea it would help, but my reflux or whatever it was has gone away. To think at one point my Dr. was treating that (scoped) and all along it was caused or at least made way worse by undiagnosed sleep apnea. Between that and night time urination it has helped me in many ways. Now if it just made me drop 40 pounds I'd be set, I guess I gotta do something myself.
Post Reply Post Reply
(02-13-2014, 10:51 PM)TassieJeff Wrote: I'm a newbie having used my APAP for only about a week but my GERD seems to have improved. I thought about the situation and it made sense to me that having a positive pressure in my upper body may help keep the reflux from rising, so here is a link (one of many) that states there seems to be mostly positive outcomes for GERD sufferers when using CPAP.
http://www.webmd.com/heartburn-gerd/news...eases-gerd