Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Put Unlocked Chip Into Computer
#1
Hi,
Well I finally did it. While gathering information for Sleepyhead I put the chip into my computer while it was still unlocked.
Apart from feeling stupid what else should I do?
Will it damage the CPAP machine if I put it back into into its proper place?
Please advise.
Don
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.
Thomas A. Edison



Post Reply Post Reply
#2
With a ResMed most likely nothing will happen. It is a forgiving machine. What operating system and version are you using? Windows 7, 8.1, 10, Mac?

To be safe, lock the SD card, put it in your computer, copy all the data off of it into a folder. Remove the card and unlock it. Put it back in your machine. If it decides to format it, you still have the old data you can copy back to it later.


Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie

Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Thanks AlanE,
I am using Windows 7 and have copied the data files into a folder.
Will I have to put the chip back into my computer to tell me if it formatted it or will the ResMed machine tell me?
I am pleased to know my machine is forgiving. I will probably need it to be in the future.
Thanks again,
Don
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.
Thomas A. Edison



Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(11-09-2015, 09:18 AM)DonC Wrote: Thanks AlanE,
I am using Windows 7 and have copied the data files into a folder.
Will I have to put the chip back into my computer to tell me if it formatted it or will the ResMed machine tell me?
I am pleased to know my machine is forgiving. I will probably need it to be in the future.
Thanks again,
Don

Windows 7 may or may not write a hidden file to the SD card but I have never had ResMes 10 complain about my extra files and I use a FlashAir with plenty of extra stuff on it. The display on the Airsense will let you know what it is doing.


Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie

Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I don't believe the AS-10's suffer the extra file problem as the S9's do. As far as I know, this problem is only on the S9.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Windows 7 does not write the index file that corrupts some CPAP data. The problem has consistently been with 8.1 and Vista for users of the Resmed S9. Don, you won't have a problem.
______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I did just that last week, unlocked card into win 7 and downloaded. Didn't realize I left it unlocked until done. I put it back in the machine and it worked, no problems at all.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Thanks everybody,
The chip is back in place and there is no smoke or any other reaction that I can see. As you all have said it seems OK. If there is any problem in the morning I will let you know.
Thanks again,
Don
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.
Thomas A. Edison



Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [CPAP] I miss placed my chord for my CPAP machine and I tried a computer supply chord and th Ac3512000 3 279 02-05-2017, 11:18 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  [CPAP] wireless viewing from cpap to computer sherryl10 10 919 08-24-2016, 12:20 AM
Last Post: wubisnotanabbreviation
  [Diagnosis] PSG Computer simulator? DOES IT EXIST? BiLevel48 8 2,441 05-08-2015, 02:08 PM
Last Post: Mark Douglas
Gross Resmed s9 I want live data link to computer vicpete 7 1,874 08-12-2014, 09:07 AM
Last Post: robysue
  How transfer Resscan data to new computer jcarerra 18 4,583 08-04-2014, 06:43 PM
Last Post: jcarerra
  [How to] move resscan files from one computer to another justMongo 9 2,674 05-02-2014, 01:27 PM
Last Post: JohnNJ
  How to transfer ResMed data to new computer? fyndi 1 1,315 01-03-2014, 12:18 PM
Last Post: big_dave

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.