Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
#1
Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
I got a DreamStation Pro in Feb 2016 and have taken advantage of the ability to change the settings myself instead of depending on a clinician to do it. I updated the firmware too, but didn't install the update that requires PIN entry in order to change settings.

Now it's time to get a new machine and I'm considering the DreamStation Auto CPAP, but I suspect it will come with the firmware that requires PIN entry to change settings.

My questions are:

1. Does the out-of-the-box firmware require a PIN to be entered to change settings?
2. If so, has anyone found a way around it (such as a default PIN)?
3. I'm planning to buy from an internet seller, as my insurance company will pay 70% of the out-of-network cost after my deductible is met (which it is) but if I buy in-network they'll lease it, leaving me to pay the bulk of the cost next year when my deductible resets to zero. Does anyone know of a seller who will provide the PIN?

Thanks in advance for any help you may provide.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
The latest firmware levels (1.1.7, for instance) don’t appear to even provide for a means to PIN protect the machines. My guess is that it was an idea that didn’t work out well and ended up making a lot of machines unsalable (forgotten PIN, machine bricked on upgrade, etc.). Would love to know the back story, if anyone knows it.
Geoffrey Rush as Philip Henslowe, (Shakespeare in Love) "I don't know. It's a mystery."
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
Thanks, I feel better about my impending purchase now. I'm guessing the provider PIN feature is still present. If my new machine arrives with a PIN set I'll just do a factory reset before I start using it.

The firmware on my current DreamStation is WAY back at 1.1.1. Just skimmed through the features added since then and don't see anything I care about.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
I got my DreamStation Auto a year ago last month, and it did not have the PIN thing. I, too, think they got rid of that in the software.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
Got mine in April of this year. No PIN required.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Question about changing new DreamStation Auto CPAP settings
Got mine in September of this year with the latest firmware - no PIN required.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Need help with AirCurve 10 settings Polonius7 11 189 07-02-2020, 08:49 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  DreamStation CPAP - I found out about a sale KSMatthew 10 435 06-25-2020, 10:38 AM
Last Post: bonjour
  Humidity and temperature settings drmaestro 5 162 06-21-2020, 12:35 PM
Last Post: mesenteria
  [CPAP] DreamStation Auto CPAP pahrump808 10 399 06-15-2020, 12:42 PM
Last Post: optimalsleep
  Help with settings from S9 to AutoSense machine mraj 1 102 06-15-2020, 11:57 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  help please new Changing from CPAP Resmed S9 to Resmed AutoSet Chumbley17 13 368 06-04-2020, 04:32 AM
Last Post: Chumbley17
Question Dreamstation settings for new mask? Ockrocket 4 189 06-03-2020, 07:33 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.