Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Question on Centrals
Question on Centrals
Hey all - I'm new to the APAP and I'm trying to figure out if I'm doing something wrong with the machine settings or mask. I'm getting no Obstructive events however quite a few centrals. I can only tolerate the machine for a couple of hours at a time, and still in that short duration I'm getting them.
And I feel worse since I started using the machine than before quite frankly.

Any thoughts, feedback or anything that can help at all?

Happy to post different charts and time intervals if needed, Snore is always blank fyi.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Question on Centrals
A few things about what you've got going on:

We don't see the statistics of your sleep study. Specifically, we need to know event type and count. It can tell us if the CA present are treatment emergent, pre-existing, or idiopathic.
Some CA facts if these are treatment emergent: these CA should reduce within 3 months, all CA events are consistently inconsistent, reduction of pressure swings can minimize CA.

Your settings are a bit counter productive. You have a low pressure setting of 5 and an EPR of 3. This machine can only go to a low of 4, so you cannot receive the full benefits from the 3 EPR. In order to benefit, you will need to increase the pressure from 5 to 7. Regardless of EPR, most adults require a minimum pressure of 6.

You should review the wiki on OSCAR charts to organize to the standard view. If zooming in on specific event flags, it needs to be about a 2 minute zoom level typically.