Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Questions about flow rate, pressure and AHI
Questions about flow rate, pressure and AHI
Hi, I am very new to the Apnea Board and breathing treatment. This is my first post :-).

For a quick intro, I started to feel shortness of breadth when I slept at night a few months ago, and sleeping on a wedge pillow made it somehow better. However I often woke up feeling very tired and sometimes with headache. I also started to experience shortness of breath on exertion during the day. I had a pulmonary function test and saw a pulmonologist, he ordered me a bipap machine (ResMed AirCurve 10 ST-A) after further tests and clinical exams. I've been using the machine at night since Sept 10th. It does help me to sleep better during the night. 

I've been reading the forum postings to learn more about breathing and sleep, and have been monitoring my sleep stats using SleepyHead. As I am very new to all this I am still trying to get my head around a few things, and have some questions -
  • My AHI has been high every day, around 19 ~ 24. I don't know if I have apnea problem to start with. Should I be concerned? I do feel tired in the day.
  • The spont trig is 30% for last night. It started as 44% and has been gradually dropping. The spont cyc number has been stable on the other hand, at around 56%. Does this mean I need to adjust the machine setting?
  • Sometimes I feel like I am waiting for the next breath to kick in (if that makes sense)? I tried to make meaning of my flow rate wave forms. Do you think there's indication of restriction?