Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Questions on Aflex CAs and OAs
Questions on Aflex CAs and OAs
Hi,

I’ve been using a Dreamstation 500 for about 10 months and have a few unanswered questions. I use Sleepyhead and a spreadsheet for data analysis. First, I’ll provide some context for the questions.

1. Pre-CPAP my sleep study showed AHI of 12.8 with SpO2 < 90% 0.5% of time, and <88% 0.1% of time.

2. With my CPAP Median hours of sleep = 6.7 Median events per night 23 Hypopnea, 5 CA, 2 OA.  Apneas are 77 percent Hypopnea, 17 percent CA, and 7 percent OA.

3. I’ve periodically used an oximeter and never seen any significant desaturations associated with any apnea or hypopnea events.

4. After many tweaks, motivated by insights gained from this forum, I have stabilized at pressure of 7.5-8.5 with Aflex off.

I have four questions:

1. For the last month I’ve completely turned off Aflex. This has had a profound effect on CAs, cutting them by 90-95%. Median CAs has dropped from 5 to 0.5 per night. Does this suggest that I am in the subset of patients whose CAs are therapy-induced, and that I should keep Aflex turned off?

2. One apparent consequence of turning off Aflex is a doubling of my 95% leak rate and a rise in “Time over leak redline”. What might be causing this, and should I worry about it?  

3. I’ve looked more closely at the nature of my OAs and find that 66 percent have durations less than 10 seconds. Furthermore, whenever I’ve used oximetry, I’ve never see any desaturations associated with any OAs. I’ve also frequently seen OAs reported when I was lying awake prior to getting out of bed, at times when I was experiencing no respiratory distress. Should I be trying to eliminate those last 2 OAs per night, of which only one is > 10 seconds long?