Post Reply 
Quick Setup question for PRS1
Author Message
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #1
Quick Setup question for PRS1
OK - Going to try seitching over to pilloow mask for a short time (hopefully short).

On the PRS1 60 series, I could not find, either in the regular or the clinician setup menus, a selection for type of mask (FF, nasal, or pillow). I have seen it on the ResMed machines - does PR not have it on the System One? Did I just miss it? If so, where is it found?

OMMOHY
07-28-2016 03:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
green wings Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 547
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Respironics System One RemStar Pro (460)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: integrated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 13.0 cm
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: using CPAP since Jan. 2016

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: US

Post: #2
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
It's called System One Resistance or something approximately like that and has values of X1, X2, X3, etc. I think the P10 nasal pillows are approximately an X1 value. If you have a Respironics mask, the resistance X value will be printed on the packaging.
07-28-2016 04:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
chill Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 862
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: DreamStation X500
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Walk-in Mask Closet
Humidifier: DreamStation
CPAP Pressure: 13-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP True Believer

Sex: Male
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Post: #3
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
Looks like it depends on the pillow size, here is what I found:

[Image: QM0R6vc.jpg]

My understanding is that this is a relatively minor adjustment and more marketing than vital to therapy.
07-28-2016 04:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #4
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
Does the setting have anything to do with actual therapy or is it just a setting to help the machine figure out the true leak rate (netting the expected leak rate for the mask from total loss to figure true leaks)?

That is what I am inferring form other threads in other places.

OMMOHY
07-28-2016 10:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
AshSF Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 356
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: PRS1 D560TS
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed P10, Bkup: Airfit F10 & Quattro Air
Humidifier: PRS1 60 series with Heated Tube
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 8 w/ Aflex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Using APAP mode with fixed pressure

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
The resistance control helps the machine compensate for pressure loss felt at the mask interface compared to the pressure delivered from the machine side. It makes sure that mask pressure is accurate to what is shown on the display. And it also ensures that aflex/cflex relief levels are accurate.

Started APAP 4-20, Closed range to 7.5-14, then straight 8.0 w/ Aflex 3
RDI always below 1. But sleep much much better at straight pressure.
Started on F10, Tried Quattro Air successfully. Finally settled on P10.
07-29-2016 02:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #6
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
(07-29-2016 02:27 AM)AshSF Wrote:  The resistance control helps the machine compensate for pressure loss felt at the mask interface compared to the pressure delivered from the machine side. It makes sure that mask pressure is accurate to what is shown on the display. And it also ensures that aflex/cflex relief levels are accurate.

So..... My reading is that it really doesn't matter from a therapeutic standpoint then (for an auto user since if you're having events, it will increase pressure to whatever level is required, regardless of what the display says, so long as the range is wide enough), just the metrics that the machine reports.

What setting to use for the P10 mask?

OMMOHY
(This post was last modified: 07-29-2016 06:46 AM by OMyMyOHellYes.)
07-29-2016 06:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,376
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #7
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
When I was using a PRS1 machine, I changed the resistance to approximate the correct setting for my Airfit P10. It resulted in a significant enough increase in AHI and events, that I just reverted to off "0". In theory the correct setting should compensate for the mask volume and intentional leak rate, but I didn't find it of much use.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
07-29-2016 11:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #8
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
I started with it off as I couldn't find any X value reference for the ResMed P10 mask. (That's what it was set on with the Mirage FX mask too.)

OMMOHY
07-29-2016 12:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
cate1898 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 784
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR System One 560BT Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10's/backup-DreamWear
Humidifier: PR attached
CPAP Pressure: 8.5 - 13. A-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP Therapy Sept. 11, 2015. Hx Hypertension, Post Graves Disease, chronic migraines.

Sex: Female
Location: Southern Ontario//SW Florida

Post: #9
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
So...what is the correct setting using P10's with System 1 PR 560? Is it Resistance set to X1 or off?

Second question, why do we cap off the upper range in auto mode? I understand setting the lower end of the range and why it is better, but if your pressure is only going to go as high as needed then why not just leave the upper at 20? Maybe I'm just confused?

APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
07-31-2016 06:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #10
RE: Quick Setup question for PRS1
I dunno. I just left mine set to "OFF". Seems to be what most folks are saying to do anyway. My numbers seemed to settle somewhat after night one.

I dunno the answer to the second question either. Bottom of the range I don't like to tolerate below an 8, which is within a couple clicks of my 95% number 10,5-11.0). It makes sense to set the bottom near your therapy number so the machine can spend more time treating and less time hunting and pecking and ramping around to get to the therapy number. Most nights, I stay around 9-10 for therapy, sometimes falling back to 8, and popping up to 11-11.5 a few times a night. And I don't know why the cap is a good idea, unless maybe some folks get disturbed by a pressure higher than the set max. For now, I'm leaving mine at 20 and will do a few weeks and see if I am ever crossing or approaching the 15 I had as max. May reduce back then if no deviations above that, may not. AS you observe, it won't go there if it don't need to. Unless teh machine goes rogue. And if it did, why would it stop at a preset?

OMMOHY
07-31-2016 07:35 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  HELP! machine died and need a quick solution!! Jamer in trouble 10 374 12-04-2016 07:27 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  First machine!! Just arrived, setup help please. SJGino 4 265 11-16-2016 08:49 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  My battery backup setup GeoffD 278 22,242 10-27-2016 05:28 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Quick Question... Duckdog58 12 2,130 08-16-2016 07:46 AM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes
  New, quick questions KarKat 6 369 08-04-2016 04:31 PM
Last Post: KarKat
  DreamStation Auto - setup question KSMatthew 3 398 07-11-2016 11:18 PM
Last Post: chill
  Resmed S9 SD card setup davek 9 1,197 04-27-2016 04:19 PM
Last Post: Dawei

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)