Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Quick Setup question for PRS1
#1
OK - Going to try seitching over to pilloow mask for a short time (hopefully short).

On the PRS1 60 series, I could not find, either in the regular or the clinician setup menus, a selection for type of mask (FF, nasal, or pillow). I have seen it on the ResMed machines - does PR not have it on the System One? Did I just miss it? If so, where is it found?

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
It's called System One Resistance or something approximately like that and has values of X1, X2, X3, etc. I think the P10 nasal pillows are approximately an X1 value. If you have a Respironics mask, the resistance X value will be printed on the packaging.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Looks like it depends on the pillow size, here is what I found:

[Image: QM0R6vc.jpg]

My understanding is that this is a relatively minor adjustment and more marketing than vital to therapy.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Does the setting have anything to do with actual therapy or is it just a setting to help the machine figure out the true leak rate (netting the expected leak rate for the mask from total loss to figure true leaks)?

That is what I am inferring form other threads in other places.

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
The resistance control helps the machine compensate for pressure loss felt at the mask interface compared to the pressure delivered from the machine side. It makes sure that mask pressure is accurate to what is shown on the display. And it also ensures that aflex/cflex relief levels are accurate.
Started APAP 4-20, Closed range to 7.5-14, then straight 8.0 w/ Aflex 3
RDI always below 1. But sleep much much better at straight pressure.
Started on F10, Tried Quattro Air successfully. Finally settled on P10.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(07-29-2016, 02:27 AM)AshSF Wrote: The resistance control helps the machine compensate for pressure loss felt at the mask interface compared to the pressure delivered from the machine side. It makes sure that mask pressure is accurate to what is shown on the display. And it also ensures that aflex/cflex relief levels are accurate.

So..... My reading is that it really doesn't matter from a therapeutic standpoint then (for an auto user since if you're having events, it will increase pressure to whatever level is required, regardless of what the display says, so long as the range is wide enough), just the metrics that the machine reports.

What setting to use for the P10 mask?

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
When I was using a PRS1 machine, I changed the resistance to approximate the correct setting for my Airfit P10. It resulted in a significant enough increase in AHI and events, that I just reverted to off "0". In theory the correct setting should compensate for the mask volume and intentional leak rate, but I didn't find it of much use.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
I started with it off as I couldn't find any X value reference for the ResMed P10 mask. (That's what it was set on with the Mirage FX mask too.)

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
So...what is the correct setting using P10's with System 1 PR 560? Is it Resistance set to X1 or off?

Second question, why do we cap off the upper range in auto mode? I understand setting the lower end of the range and why it is better, but if your pressure is only going to go as high as needed then why not just leave the upper at 20? Maybe I'm just confused?
APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
I dunno. I just left mine set to "OFF". Seems to be what most folks are saying to do anyway. My numbers seemed to settle somewhat after night one.

I dunno the answer to the second question either. Bottom of the range I don't like to tolerate below an 8, which is within a couple clicks of my 95% number 10,5-11.0). It makes sense to set the bottom near your therapy number so the machine can spend more time treating and less time hunting and pecking and ramping around to get to the therapy number. Most nights, I stay around 9-10 for therapy, sometimes falling back to 8, and popping up to 11-11.5 a few times a night. And I don't know why the cap is a good idea, unless maybe some folks get disturbed by a pressure higher than the set max. For now, I'm leaving mine at 20 and will do a few weeks and see if I am ever crossing or approaching the 15 I had as max. May reduce back then if no deviations above that, may not. AS you observe, it won't go there if it don't need to. Unless teh machine goes rogue. And if it did, why would it stop at a preset?

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  PRS1 760 Auto BiPAP Humidifier holden4th 3 109 03-14-2017, 09:26 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  No setup menu option RemStar Pro 460P buschjd 9 286 01-11-2017, 05:58 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  HELP! machine died and need a quick solution!! Jamer in trouble 12 944 12-19-2016, 07:04 AM
Last Post: E.W.
  First machine!! Just arrived, setup help please. SJGino 4 438 11-16-2016, 08:49 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  My battery backup setup GeoffD 278 26,334 10-27-2016, 05:28 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Quick Question... Duckdog58 12 2,269 08-16-2016, 07:46 AM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes
  New, quick questions KarKat 6 475 08-04-2016, 04:31 PM
Last Post: KarKat

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.