Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Mask Help Needed
Mask Help Needed
Hello,
I am looking to try out a new CPAP mask as mine isn’t as effective as it once was and was looking for suggestions.  I have been using a BiPap for 7 years with the old school comfort gel blue mask. I recently had weight loss surgery and lost 130lbs+.  The mask just doesn’t sit on my face right anymore.  On top of that, here are other things to know: 

Short Beard
Always have used nasal mask, but would like to switch to pillows
Mouth breathing is a constant problem.  I have tried chin straps but they never seem to domuch of anything.  
I have developed major gum issues from the pressure.  The dentist is working to try to reduce the inflammation but we are not having much luck.
Full face mask is not an option due to my gums and dry mouth
I have some issues with the upper part of my nose and do not breath well because of it. I tried having it fixed surgically but it did not help.  The surgeon suggested some serious reconstructive surgery but I passed on it as the only issue I have is this.
The last few months I have woken up with a sticky, tar like “goo” in my mouth, on my tongue and on my teeth.  Seriously the first thing I do in the morning before brushing is scrape it off my tongue. My best guess is this is from my sinuses?  I do drink water after I brush at night, but I cant imagine that is causing this.