Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

REMstar Pro static electricity and wafer battery
#1
My REMstar Pro with humidifier started going crazy two winters ago. Weather here is very dry and static electricity builds up easily. If I dragged the hose over a wool blanket, the machine would turn itself off (or on). When I took it apart I found dust and lint built up under the control wheel. Cleaning that out and spritzing the switch with contact cleaner fixed the problem until this spring.

Now, the machine seems to have "forgotten" who it is. My 7.0 cm pressure setting has defaulted back to the factory 6.5 cm and the static problem seems to have recurred even though I cleaned out the switch again last month.

Could this be because the wafer battery on the motherboard, about 5 years old, has finally gone dead? That, combined with static, may be the problem. If so, has anybody changed out that battery? What's the proper procedure so that you don't fry any chips?

Thanks !!
Reply
#2
(08-25-2015, 02:37 PM)LouisePaulWA7DBN Wrote: My REMstar Pro with humidifier started going crazy two winters ago. Weather here is very dry and static electricity builds up easily. If I dragged the hose over a wool blanket, the machine would turn itself off (or on). When I took it apart I found dust and lint built up under the control wheel. Cleaning that out and spritzing the switch with contact cleaner fixed the problem until this spring.

Now, the machine seems to have "forgotten" who it is. My 7.0 cm pressure setting has defaulted back to the factory 6.5 cm and the static problem seems to have recurred even though I cleaned out the switch again last month.

Could this be because the wafer battery on the motherboard, about 5 years old, has finally gone dead? That, combined with static, may be the problem. If so, has anybody changed out that battery? What's the proper procedure so that you don't fry any chips?

Thanks !!

Do you have the PRS1 model, or one of the older ones?

As best as I can tell, the Repironics machines are not designed to have the battery changed, at least not on the PRS1 models. There's no way for the end user to fix the clock time on the machine without a proprietary cable and software. I think the battery is also soldered in, not in a battery holder.

Shame on you, Philips Respironics.

Do you know how to change the pressure setting? The manuals are available from the setup manuals link at the top of the page.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Reply
#3
Hi LouisePaulWA7DBN,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you with getting your machine problem straightened out and with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Remstar Auto M Series "Service Required" msgill59 4 113 Yesterday, 08:57 AM
Last Post: msgill59
  Data Card Read for REMStar Pro C-Flex Auto IQ HenryECole81 8 119 01-19-2017, 09:02 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  newbie battery question- time sensitive Dogwood1447 14 390 01-18-2017, 07:06 AM
Last Post: pc1955
  No setup menu option RemStar Pro 460P buschjd 9 190 01-11-2017, 05:58 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Battery Back up for Airsense 10 Matzaball2016 6 397 12-23-2016, 05:45 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
Question Remstar 450P - Does it Have Auto Trial? kacn6771 9 312 12-22-2016, 02:50 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  REMStar SE with DOT Compliance musicman85 11 525 12-01-2016, 09:08 PM
Last Post: musicman85

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.