Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

leak advice
leak advice
I've been using cpap for roughly 6 months now. The last couple of weeks I've been getting high leak rates, and unsure why or how to stop them. This also results in my eyes and sinuses being filled with air, feeling worse than if I hadn't used the machine and me struggling to stay positive about this whole experience.

Previously my avg leak was around 12-14L/min. And fairly flat throughout the night.

I've been having instances roughly 1hour apart and lasting 30mins give or take with max leak rate.

Mask is clean, I'm freshly shaved before bed, all equipment is new and has worked fine with weeks of no issues, no changes in settings or pressures...
Any ideas of what could be causing it or how to rectify it?

[Image: joMQ8ZR.jpg]

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: leak advice
An F10 should not leak so much at 9cm fixed. I am assuming that it was working fine for 5+ months.

Things to evaluate/try:
1) How old is the mask cushion? The silicone may start breaking down.
2) have you Adjusted your straps' tension lately. They may stretch over time and your goldilocks setting may have moved due to this.
3) when the machine starts, do you lift off the mask a little bit from the face to let the silicone seal to inflate?
4) are you tightening it too much? In my experience with F10, I would tighten the top 2 straps snug and the bottom 2 were left much loose.
5) Have you tried mask liners? In my experience, they made the whole Process much manageable. They eliminated the need to shave before masking up too.
PRS1 Auto & Dreamstation Auto w/ P10 and straight pressure of 8cm
Post Reply Post Reply
(08-08-2015, 12:29 AM)AshSF Wrote: An F10 should not leak so much at 9cm fixed. I am assuming that it was working fine for 5+ months.