Post Reply 
RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
Author Message
DocWils Offline

Members-b

Posts: 1,271
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: Philips Remstar series 60
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed P10
Humidifier: same as machine
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Switzerland

Post: #1
RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
I had to take my Philips System One 5 A-flex in for servicing and they gave me an S9 Autoset as a replacement for the time-being.

First off, very quiet, way quieter than the Philips (I don't know if the newer generation of Philips (system one 6?) is quieter than my older box, I am pretty sure the compressor is only part of the problem, and the exposed surface of the humidifier is main culprit, which Resmed solved by enclosing the entire humidifier and putting in that interesting little extra surface in the humidifier to break up the sound - take note, Philips!), so that was nice, yes me likey, but I have three questions:

1) is there anyway to turn off the bloody start light? When not in use the thing is on all the time, and since I go to bed way later than my better two-thirds, she has this light on in the dark the whole time until I come to bed.

2) anyway to get more detailed information from it? Compared to the Philips, it is very undetailed in Sleepyhead. Whereas the System one 5 outputs not only hypopnea, obstructive and clear airway data, but also RERA, Flow Limit, Vsnore and PB/CSR in the Details bar on the left and the event breakdown, the S9 only outputs only hypopnea, obstructive and clear airway data and something it calls Apnoea (spelled American style as Apnea, odd for a machine from OZ where they use standard English spelling, not Murrican) which seems to have no bearing on AHI at all. I found the lack of detail a bit disconcerting. Anything I can change or hack in the clinician's settings to get a bit more out of it? Is this also a problem in the A10, since I will eventually have to change up the System One anyway (they replace the machines here after 4 to 5 years, since we mostly rent, not buy them, from the Lungen Liga) and I like how quiet the S9 is and assume the A10 is too.

3) once I read out the data in Sleepyhead and put the card back in the machine, it says "Invalid Card, erase data?" and won't accept the card unless I do. Suggestions?
(This post was last modified: 10-22-2014 02:25 AM by DocWils.)
10-22-2014 02:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
1- Not sure what you mean "When not in use the thing is on all the time"
The light only comes on when you push any of the buttons and only stay on for 3 minutes. When you start treatment, the light comes only briefly and goes out until you stop treatment or push a button. you can cover the light with piece of cardboard or something so not disturb your better half. During the day, you can unplug the machine or power-down (push the power button for 3 seconds)

2- If not mistaken, Apnea in SleepyHead refer to "unknown apnea", the S9 cannot determine the type of apnea accurately when detecting high leaks hence unknown apnea scored

3- Its been suggested to lock the SD card before you insert into the card reader and unlock before insert into the machine, to prevent anything written on the card and corrupt it, which the S9 do not like. You can let the S9 erase the data on the card (otherwise the S9 do not start with the card inside it) then the S9 write back the data on the card minus the detailed data as detailed data written directly on the card and not stored on the machine. Not a loss as you have already downloaded the data. Some like to do backups, I don't bother and don,t care much about data, if i sleep between 7 and 8 hours ... happy as can be
10-22-2014 04:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
kmar92 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResmedS9 Auto Set
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 17
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post: #3
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
I think that maybe DocWils means the start/stop button on the S9 and yes it is always on when the machine is powered and not in use and goes out when in use. It is only a low intensity LED and not very bright even in the dark. If it is annoying then as Zonk says cover it with something.
10-22-2014 05:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,014
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #4
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
My S9, although it is a VPAP Auto reports everything that your PR does in Sleepyhead with one or two exceptions and I am pretty sure that the Autoset does the same. I am not sure, however, what setting might need changing.

The only fix for the power button light that I know of is to unplug the S9 or put it on the floor.

Resmed uses the apnea spelling because they know that is the correct spelling. Dielaughing

Best Regards,

PaytonA
10-22-2014 10:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Flatheaddog Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit F10 from Q Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed h5
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: God, please let me sleep.

Sex: Male
Location: Central Texas

Post: #5
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
Small piece of black electrical tape should solve the light apnea problem. ;_p
10-22-2014 10:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DocWils Offline

Members-b

Posts: 1,271
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: Philips Remstar series 60
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed P10
Humidifier: same as machine
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Switzerland

Post: #6
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
Okay, thanks people. Will cover the button with something.

PaytonA, if it is correct spelling, they why call the language English? Should be called American, or, as I seem to hear it pronounced, Murrcan, just to distinguish it from the real English Wink.
10-22-2014 02:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
(10-22-2014 05:39 AM)kmar92 Wrote:  I think that maybe DocWils means the start/stop button on the S9 and yes it is always on when the machine is powered and not in use and goes out when in use. It is only a low intensity LED and not very bright even in the dark. If it is annoying then as Zonk says cover it with something.
Good catch. Beside covering with something, zonk also said unplug or power down
10-22-2014 02:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #8
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
(10-22-2014 10:54 AM)PaytonA Wrote:  My S9, although it is a VPAP Auto reports everything that your PR does in Sleepyhead with one or two exceptions and I am pretty sure that the Autoset does the same. I am not sure, however, what setting might need changing.
Both AirSense 10 AutoSet and AirSense 10 AutoSet for Her report reports % of time in CSR and for Her reports RERAs

There is no setting to change on the S9, PR happen report a bit extra data than the S9 but I would not swap my S9 with any other machine .... the grass is not greener on the other side

S9 series data guide http://www.resmed.com/content/dam/resmed...er_eng.pdf

S9 bilevel series data guide http://www.resmed.com/content/dam/resmed...er_eng.pdf
10-22-2014 02:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #9
RE: RESMED S9 Autoset problems/questions
(10-22-2014 02:12 AM)DocWils Wrote:  1) is there anyway to turn off the bloody start light? When not in use the thing is on all the time, and since I go to bed way later than my better two-thirds, she has this light on in the dark the whole time until I come to bed.

2) anyway to get more detailed information from it? Compared to the Philips, it is very undetailed in Sleepyhead. Whereas the System one 5 outputs not only hypopnea, obstructive and clear airway data, but also RERA, Flow Limit, Vsnore and PB/CSR in the Details bar on the left and the event breakdown, the S9 only outputs only hypopnea, obstructive and clear airway data and something it calls Apnoea (spelled American style as Apnea, odd for a machine from OZ where they use standard English spelling, not Murrican) which seems to have no bearing on AHI at all. I found the lack of detail a bit disconcerting. Anything I can change or hack in the clinician's settings to get a bit more out of it? Is this also a problem in the A10, since I will eventually have to change up the System One anyway (they replace the machines here after 4 to 5 years, since we mostly rent, not buy them, from the Lungen Liga) and I like how quiet the S9 is and assume the A10 is too.

3) once I read out the data in Sleepyhead and put the card back in the machine, it says "Invalid Card, erase data?" and won't accept the card unless I do. Suggestions?

1) Start light - You mean the little green light in the round on/off button? I don't think there's a fix. The LCD display light goes off pretty quickly. I guess throwing a towel over it is the only solution.

3) Format card. Do you windows 8.1 or a Mac? Windows 8.1 writes data to the SD card without asking for permission every time you insert the card in the machine. Shame on you, Bill Gates!!! Then the S9 has some design flaws that makes it reject the card after that happens.

Before you let the S9 machine reformat the card, copy the whole SD card into a directory on your PC. Name the directory something like 141022 for today's date. That way, SleepyHead can read your data again later if you ever need it.

There are some links in my signature line that might help you fix an SD card or keep Win 8.1 from messing with the card in the future, but the simple solution is to write protect the card before you put it in the computer.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
10-22-2014 04:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Newbie with Smart Card Reader Problems MissSnuffleupagus 3 150 12-01-2016 09:36 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,269 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 528 11-09-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz
  [Equipment] Resmed S10 Autoset Humidifier question keithb4158 6 393 11-02-2016 05:13 AM
Last Post: keithb4158
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 543 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Autoset 10 alarm sound Ibiban 3 258 10-28-2016 07:30 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Occasional problems with exhale relief function SLongridge 1 264 10-24-2016 05:29 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)