Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Reason to go from fixed to Auto
Reason to go from fixed to Auto
Will try to make this quick...
I've been using a fixed CPAP for 5-6 years.   Originally set at 8.5.   I use it 365/yr.  I wanted to get a new unit with data capability and also wanted to move to Auto-PAP.   But I didn't really want to go thru another sleep study.  I talked to my CPAP provider and they told me I needed a prescription from my doctor.  The doc sent it, but it was for the specific pressure setting.  So even though the CPAP provider told me I was getting a unit that could be set to Auto, they gave me a DreamStation pro.  I found the Auto trial on the DreamStation and set it from 8.5 - 12.5.  Immediately felt I was getting better results and after a few weeks looked at Sleepyhead.  I don't have data in front of me but pressure was getting to 11.0 - 11.5 range most nights.   I asked the doc to send a prescription to CPAP provider to set auto at 8.5 - 12.5 permanently since the Auto-trail only lasts for 29 days...and apparently it limits your numbers of 'trials'.   Well, now the CPAP provider told me what I already knew...that the unit isn't an auto.   They can request an auto unit from my insurance company, but I need a reason in writing from my doc describing why I need my treatment changed from fixed to auto.    And apparently the fact that I feel that the auto-mode helps me much more isn't a good reason...because in their mind I'm on fixed 8.5.   Any recommendations on a good reason?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Reason to go from fixed to Auto