Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Unexplained loss of effectiveness
Unexplained loss of effectiveness
I have been using CPAP therapy regularly for about 8 months. Contrary to most newcomers (time taken to get used to it), I was comfortable from Day 1 and got amazing results. I was waking up fresh, alert and daytime lethargy was gone. Even my BP (which was always high in the mornings before therapy) was significantly down (became normal).

However lately (maybe the past month), the effectiveness has reduced by about 50%. Though I don’t think I am snoring (it’s not possible with nasal pillow mask on) have woken up a few times at night with that familiar feeling in my mouth/tongue and not as fresh in the morning as in the first 6-7 months of therapy (and just as I suspected, the BP is also slightly high).

I am very puzzled – there is no indication of any leak, have not touched the settings and more importantly, the readings (which I check every morning) is exactly how it has always been since the beginning of therapy. AHI of around 1.5 and average pressure of around 10.5. My doubts are more technical – how does the machine calculate the AHI, can it be wrong (how can I have 50% of the symptoms of apnea that I was suffering from earlier with a fantastic AHI of 1.5?). Secondly, even though the average pressure indicated is still the same I suspect that it is failing to increase sufficiently when required. That’s based on feelings - in my mouth itself and also the strong air pressure that the machine was generating earlier (especially in when removed in the middle of the night) seems to be missing – now it just seems to be at the same level.

Would be grateful for any insights, suggestions.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Unexplained loss of effectiveness
Hi bornagain,