Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 6-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Replacing supplies
I have been using a Redmed S9 auto for two years with great success. Every month my equipment supplier sends me an email telling me what supplies my insurance will pay to have replaced. The list always includes filters, heated tube, regular tube, headgear and pillows. With the exception of the headgear that does wear out, I haven't replaced anything. My question is should I be replacing this other equipment?
I did replace the filter once, but truthfully, it looked no different than the new one. How dirty can it get? Unless you're using the machine in a rock quarry or a coal mine, it's filtering the same air as I'm breathing all day.
The tubes and pillows all seem fine.
09-23-2015 07:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female

RE: Replacing supplies
Welcome to the forum,
It's totally up to you! There are reasons why insurance agrees to the replacement schedule.
The tubes, pillows do wear out. As far as the filters go, I'm a strong believer in replacing them once a month. Just because you can't see dust and fine particles in the air doesn't mean that they are not there. Besides doing possible damage to your machine with dirty filters, just think what it could do to your lungs.

Take advantage of your insurance replacement schedule, this way if something breaks or wears out, you have an extra on hand.

OpalRose
09-23-2015 08:17 AM
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask