Post Reply 
ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
Author Message
Rodney Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Innomed Nasal Air II XS
Humidifier: Yes
CPAP Pressure: Min 5, Max 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA

Post: #1
ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
My ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier, use to work on Setting 4, I use to see condensation on the water tank in the AM's. for the past couple of day in the AM's the heating element has been ice cold, the only water that has been used is due to Passover from the Air flow.
I took the unit back to my DPME seller and they said that if the Humidity in the Room is up then the unit will not heat just turn up the Humidifier setting to a higher number. I don't want to turn it up to a higher setting , I want to use the setting I have always use which is 4. It use to heat at this setting now it doesn't. Plus a higher Humidifier setting I get wash-out.

Has any body experienced this? I think the DPME seller just don't want to send the unit back to have it checked out, just trying to puul the wool over my eyes.

Any ideas or comments greatly appreciated.
Thanks
08-12-2015 10:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Papit Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 26
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: AirCurve 10
CPAP Pressure: 7 - 17
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Licensed Professional Engineer, California

Sex: Male
Location: USA California

Post: #2
RE: ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
(08-12-2015 10:02 AM)Rodney Wrote:  My ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier, use to work on Setting 4, I use to see condensation on the water tank in the AM's. for the past couple of day in the AM's the heating element has been ice cold, the only water that has been used is due to Passover from the Air flow.
I took the unit back to my DPME seller and they said that if the Humidity in the Room is up then the unit will not heat just turn up the Humidifier setting to a higher number. I don't want to turn it up to a higher setting , I want to use the setting I have always use which is 4. It use to heat at this setting now it doesn't. Plus a higher Humidifier setting I get wash-out.

Has any body experienced this? I think the DPME seller just don't want to send the unit back to have it checked out, just trying to puul the wool over my eyes.

Any ideas or comments greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Hey Rodney. These humidifiers have a humidity sensor in them. If the humidity in the room has moved up and is higher than the humidity setting you have it set for, then the humidifier will NOT add any more water to the blowing air. That's likely why it's not using any water in its tank, unless it is malfunctioning. The room air that you breath through your machine may well be more moist than previously.

So if you want to test your humidifier, do what you've been advised and "call their bluff" and/OR find out if they're right. If they are right and you turn WAY up the humidifier setting just for this test, the humidifier will use water in the tank. If it doesn't use water, then the humidifier is probably broken. Either way you will find out what's what. Make sense as a test?

Best, --Papit
08-13-2015 01:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #3
RE: ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
I think the DME is jacking you around, Rodney. (I hate DME's too. Always glad to take your money but
the second you have an issue, they perceive you as a liability. They hire stupid people too.
I was told by one that I had to unplug the unit during the day or mold would grow in it.
Really? Tongue )

I digress:
So, why do I say such? Because an electronic and accurate humidistat (humidity control with sensor)
(consumer grade devices are notoriously squirrelly)
to do what they SAY in your CPAP would cost as much as the machine itself and I KNOW
they wouldn't implement anything like that.

Papit's advise is good.
Run that test on it. If it's still dead cold, take it back for repair/replacement.
It would be warm/hot in just a couple minutes.

Cheers & good luck!

Smile

"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
08-13-2015 05:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
under pressure Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 139
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also use F&P Icon Auto and Z1 Auto for travel and Backup

Sex: Male
Location: Colorado

Post: #4
RE: ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
Go into my options, down near the bottom of that menu, maybe two from bottom is "Run Warmup" .......select it so the machine is in warmup cycle.......observe the screen for the proper warm up indications, then after about five minutes take out the humidifier tub and feel for heat in your heat plate. Probably the quickest way to see if it's working.
08-13-2015 07:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GingerMan512 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 54
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airsense 10 Auto
Humidifier: Yes
CPAP Pressure: 5-11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Austin Texas

Post: #5
RE: ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
(08-13-2015 05:07 AM)Shastzi Wrote:  I think the DME is jacking you around, Rodney. (I hate DME's too. Always glad to take your money

What a shame, this seems to be common with DME's. My DME Carlos is awesome! He called 4 times in the first two weeks of treatment just to check on me and even provides his personal cell phone number to his patients although he won't answer between 9pm and 7am, duh.
08-13-2015 10:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Does long term humidifier use affect lungs? Russatrice 10 272 Today 01:20 AM
Last Post: JamesW
  Beginning use with H5i humidifier Lanco 24 783 Yesterday 03:14 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,236 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Question: sound level on Resmed S9 WITHOUT humidifier, compared to Remstar 560 kowlooner 8 220 11-29-2016 10:51 AM
Last Post: kowlooner
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 513 11-09-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz
  Gunk and grit in humidifier. MrEGuy 11 503 11-07-2016 12:49 AM
Last Post: cands
  [Equipment] Resmed S10 Autoset Humidifier question keithb4158 6 392 11-02-2016 05:13 AM
Last Post: keithb4158

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)