Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier
#1
My ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier, use to work on Setting 4, I use to see condensation on the water tank in the AM's. for the past couple of day in the AM's the heating element has been ice cold, the only water that has been used is due to Passover from the Air flow.
I took the unit back to my DPME seller and they said that if the Humidity in the Room is up then the unit will not heat just turn up the Humidifier setting to a higher number. I don't want to turn it up to a higher setting , I want to use the setting I have always use which is 4. It use to heat at this setting now it doesn't. Plus a higher Humidifier setting I get wash-out.

Has any body experienced this? I think the DPME seller just don't want to send the unit back to have it checked out, just trying to puul the wool over my eyes.

Any ideas or comments greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(08-12-2015, 10:02 AM)Rodney Wrote: My ResMed AireSence Autoset 10 Humidifier, use to work on Setting 4, I use to see condensation on the water tank in the AM's. for the past couple of day in the AM's the heating element has been ice cold, the only water that has been used is due to Passover from the Air flow.
I took the unit back to my DPME seller and they said that if the Humidity in the Room is up then the unit will not heat just turn up the Humidifier setting to a higher number. I don't want to turn it up to a higher setting , I want to use the setting I have always use which is 4. It use to heat at this setting now it doesn't. Plus a higher Humidifier setting I get wash-out.

Has any body experienced this? I think the DPME seller just don't want to send the unit back to have it checked out, just trying to puul the wool over my eyes.

Any ideas or comments greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Hey Rodney. These humidifiers have a humidity sensor in them. If the humidity in the room has moved up and is higher than the humidity setting you have it set for, then the humidifier will NOT add any more water to the blowing air. That's likely why it's not using any water in its tank, unless it is malfunctioning. The room air that you breath through your machine may well be more moist than previously.

So if you want to test your humidifier, do what you've been advised and "call their bluff" and/OR find out if they're right. If they are right and you turn WAY up the humidifier setting just for this test, the humidifier will use water in the tank. If it doesn't use water, then the humidifier is probably broken. Either way you will find out what's what. Make sense as a test?

Best, --Papit
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I think the DME is jacking you around, Rodney. (I hate DME's too. Always glad to take your money but
the second you have an issue, they perceive you as a liability. They hire stupid people too.
I was told by one that I had to unplug the unit during the day or mold would grow in it.
Really? Tongue )

I digress:
So, why do I say such? Because an electronic and accurate humidistat (humidity control with sensor)
(consumer grade devices are notoriously squirrelly)
to do what they SAY in your CPAP would cost as much as the machine itself and I KNOW
they wouldn't implement anything like that.

Papit's advise is good.
Run that test on it. If it's still dead cold, take it back for repair/replacement.
It would be warm/hot in just a couple minutes.

Cheers & good luck!

Smile
"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Go into my options, down near the bottom of that menu, maybe two from bottom is "Run Warmup" .......select it so the machine is in warmup cycle.......observe the screen for the proper warm up indications, then after about five minutes take out the humidifier tub and feel for heat in your heat plate. Probably the quickest way to see if it's working.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(08-13-2015, 05:07 AM)Shastzi Wrote: I think the DME is jacking you around, Rodney. (I hate DME's too. Always glad to take your money

What a shame, this seems to be common with DME's. My DME Carlos is awesome! He called 4 times in the first two weeks of treatment just to check on me and even provides his personal cell phone number to his patients although he won't answer between 9pm and 7am, duh.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] Resmed Autoset 10 Rain Out nicholb 14 707 10-16-2017, 08:05 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] Humidifier Bruce456 7 191 10-09-2017, 07:54 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  My humidifier gets empty HalfAsleep 6 311 10-08-2017, 07:54 AM
Last Post: HalfAsleep
  How to confirm ResMed A10 AutoSet is new CZOscar 5 248 10-07-2017, 03:02 PM
Last Post: HalfAsleep
  ResMed AS10 Side cover / humidifier delete and SoClean nydiver 2 190 10-02-2017, 10:53 PM
Last Post: JesseLee
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet: Mask Type & Data Recording foco 7 299 10-01-2017, 07:04 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  How do you open the humidifier? Problem solved. HalfAsleep 4 201 09-29-2017, 12:10 PM
Last Post: Timur

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.