Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure
#1
A while ago, I had changed the max pressure on my machine down from the 20 they had it originally set for to 10...because I would be forced awake by the machine shoving a small hurricane down my nose.

Things seemed good for a while, but recently I've had several instances of being awoken by the machine blowing again at full pressure. (at the new setting of 10).

It had been a while since I had pulled the card and looked at the data using ResScan...and I was completely surprised at what I found.

I would be sleeping/breathing somewhat normally, with no apneas and no airway restrictions or "bumps" in the flow pattern, then with no rhyme or reason the machine would go from my low pressure setting up to the high setting over the course of 5 seconds!!!

Needless to say, I don't last long (1 or 2 minutes) before I wake up and take it off.

Anyone have this experience? Is there something wrong with the machine? I've found several instances where it's had this "runaway" pressure ramping with zero provocation.

Thanks!
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
If it is still under warranty, I think I'd contact the DME about getting it serviced to see if there are any possible resets or repairs.
                                                                                                                                                                                  
Please organize your SleeyHead screenshots like this.
I'm an epidemiologist, not a medical provider. 
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
The normal solution is to raise your starting pressure. These machines usually default that to 4 and that's almost always too low. If the machine checks out as OK, start raising your start pressure towards about 7.
Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

Your brain is not the boss.

Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi Abnormal86,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Good luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I know this problem and have written extensively about it. I suspect you have rainout in your tube. Do you have a climate line tube? If so set it to auto and get a hose cover. If you have a regular tube get a hose cover. That will stop this problem in its tracks. See discussion from 2015 re A10 issues. When I have more time I will try and find that thread if you haven't found it already.
Coffee

Happy Pappin'
Never Give In, Never Give Up


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. 
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Thanks for the responses so far. It just seems odd to me that instead of the normal, more incremental, step ups...this thing just goes from the low setting up to the high setting in 5 seconds flat. That really doesn't seem right...like at all.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I had the same problem. Trust me, it's likely rainout. I will look for the thread from last year and you will see the similarity.
Coffee

Happy Pappin'
Never Give In, Never Give Up


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. 
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
I did have a rainout problem a couple week ago...but it did the crazy ramp to me last night, and there wasn't any moisture in the tube at all.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Here is the link to the thread from last year:

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...alfunction
Coffee

Happy Pappin'
Never Give In, Never Give Up


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. 
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
There may be moisture in the mask or in or near the machine outlet which you can't see because it drips backwards. I returned 3 machines thinking the machine was the problem. Since all 3 machines did this I realized I had to change something. Turned tube to auto, got a cover, problem solved.
Coffee

Happy Pappin'
Never Give In, Never Give Up


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. 
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Autoset 90 percentile pressure vs. Titration study pressure CDNHoser 4 68 6 hours ago
Last Post: bonjour
  [CPAP] ResMed AirSense 10 – therapy partial data, cellular transmission Roger Oscar Lima 7 200 10-17-2017, 11:52 PM
Last Post: HalfAsleep
  Pressure at altitude vs. pressure at lower elevations...? S.L. Ping Beauty 19 228 10-17-2017, 09:36 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 10 907 10-13-2017, 10:46 AM
Last Post: jaswilliams
  [Equipment] Setting mask type on Resmed Airsense 10 SleepyTimes 12 3,425 10-11-2017, 11:34 PM
Last Post: Reznik
  Humidity issues/dry throat/ResMed AirSense 10 for Her jaw2004 12 408 10-10-2017, 08:42 PM
Last Post: jaw2004
  Airsense 10 increasing pressure while I'm awake Reznik 13 295 10-07-2017, 05:05 PM
Last Post: okie bipap

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.