Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

ResMed Narval CC dental appliance and extreme dry mouth
ResMed Narval CC dental appliance and extreme dry mouth
I have been using this dental appliance now for a couple months or so, in combination with my bilevel and FF AirTouch mask. I use a chin strap to try and keep mouth closed. After making adjustments to the dental appliance to move my lower jaw further forward, I'm having issues with dry mouth.

I think the pressure of my machine is causing me to open my mouth. The device doesn't allow me to open my mouth very far though. My chin strap doesn't seem to help anymore with keeping my mouth shut at night. I tried tightening my chin strap but in the morning it caused the sides of my mouth and chin to hurt. 

Would I benefit from a nasal mask? Would the direct pressure into my nose keep me from opening my mouth?

My dentist just suggested to use mouth spray that would keep my mouth moist. That doesn't work at all since I must be breathing thru my mouth for hours and it becomes dry.
ResMed AirCurve 10 vAuto
Pressure EPAP min 4.4, IPAP 8.4, IPAP Max 18, PS 4.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: ResMed Narval CC dental appliance and extreme dry mouth
Try Xylimelts. They slowly dissolve during the night keeping your mouth moist. They stick to the side of your teeth and don't move. I've use them when using my Full face mask.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.

Post Reply Post Reply