Post Reply 
ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
Author Message
69developer Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
Every time i go to read data and put the ssd card back in, it says its needs to reformat the ssd for use.

Right now, i unplug power, remove ssd, switch to lock position, copy all data. Rescan reads new data that i just copied from new location.

i then move to unlock on ssd, insert into machine, power on machine (by plugging the ac power into it).

Then i get the message.
06-04-2014 10:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
bwexler Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 563
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: PRS 1 BiPAP autoSV Advanced, with Heated Tube humidifier
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Sleepweaver √Član
Humidifier: Resperonics Heated Tube humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Max pressure 25.0 cm H20, Max
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments: CMS 50i with Software for SpO2

Sex: Male
Location: San Marcos, CA, USA

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
When I had the same experience with my Resmed card I would simply remove and replace it with the power still on, as many times as necessary until it was recognized. Sometimes it required five or more rotations of the card before it worked.

Bob Wexler
06-04-2014 11:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jaycee Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 115
Joined: May 2014

Machine: S-9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air Large
Humidifier: 5i
CPAP Pressure: 9-13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: RT at a DME

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
The download procedure is likely making a change to your card (maybe you are clicking the erase button during the download). So every time the card goes back in the machine is not recognizing it as a card that was in that machine.

If you are getting the message that has the "yes" "no" option, just click yes, which will resend the machines data to the card (which can take a bit depending on how long you've had the machine).

How often are you downloading the data?

If everything is going good (good nights sleep, not noticing any changes), then you don't need to download data every night or even every week IMO. If you are noticing something going on (change in sleep, tiredness during day, higher AHI/leak on machine), then I would download more frequently to help you figure out the problem.
06-05-2014 08:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
You are running Windows 8.1. How do I know? Because Windows 8.1 is having its way with your card. As jaycee says, it's fine to let the Resmed reformat the card and re-install the data. The only thing lost is the detailed graph information which has already been copied to your computer. That stuff is only retained on the card for a week anyhow, so after a week the card is repopulated completely.

To avoid the problem, slide the "lock switch" on the sdcard before you put it in the computer, then "unlock" it when you put it back in the Resmed.
06-05-2014 10:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Zorki1c Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 134
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pacific Northwest United States

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
Yep. Always lock your card when inserting in computer, no matter what version of Windows you use. But 8.1 is a POS --for many reason in addition to how it handles memory cards.

"Sometimes the magic works . . . and sometimes it doesn't" -- Chief Dan George in the movie Little Big Man
06-05-2014 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
The OP says he is locking the card.

I'm betting it is in the "copy" procedure that somehow is borking something.

Try to not do a "copy" every time. You actually don't need to. If you have the urge to copy the card regularly just to have a backup, then do it every 7 days. But each copy is still losing data unless you give each copy its own folder. ResMed machines are stupid this way. The card hold all data for 7 days. Then day 8, the oldest day has some data dumped to hold the newest day. The data dumped is the details you need to view. This continues until day 30. At that point, ALL data but compliance data (because that's all they care about) is dumped for the oldest day.

Each day, one day loses detail data and one day loses everything. If you have more than 365 days of data, one day is lost completely as only one year is kept on the card. So unless you give each day it's own save folder, it's not doing any good to save the card data itself. As long as the software has it (ResScan or Sleepyhead), then all is well.

But back to your problem. Try to not copy and see if the issue is resolved.

The other option is to remove the card from the machine, wait a few seconds, and put it back in. Repeat about 4 times. If it doesn't accept it by then, just select yes. Every other week or so, I have to do this. Cussin' works, too.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-06-2014 02:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 Auto SSD Card
(06-06-2014 02:28 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  The other option is to remove the card from the machine, wait a few seconds, and put it back in. Repeat about 4 times. If it doesn't accept it by then, just select yes. Every other week or so, I have to do this. Cussin' works, too.

Good idea.

If it's not a Windows 8 problem, then this would test the behavior. When done with the machine one morning, take the card out and put it back it without first making a trip to Mr. Computer. If it reads it properly the problem is either with the card itself not playing nice, or with the Resmed card reader being goofy. Might want to see about exercising a warranty if that's the case.

If it reads the card successfully, then the problem is on the computer side. If you truly are locking the sdcard before putting it in the computer, then maybe the lock mechanism on the card is goofy. The only thing I know for sure is when I asked Bill he said Microsoft would never dream of writing on a card that was locked.
06-06-2014 03:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 529 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [CPAP] ResMed Air Sense 10 Auto Off Problem Buddie43 16 3,237 11-12-2016 02:51 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,444 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  difference between Apex XT Auto and Resmed S9 Autoset Lanco 11 443 10-11-2016 03:29 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  airsense10 auto cpap(for him) VS DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500T11 w/HT humid rookiepom 5 857 10-09-2016 07:52 AM
Last Post: stephennic
  Help please new user Resmed auto 9 VERY loud mom1mg 14 733 09-26-2016 07:49 PM
Last Post: RWSENGRG
  ResMed S9 Auto VegasPier 0 236 09-19-2016 02:31 AM
Last Post: VegasPier

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)