Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

ResMed S9 Elite CPAP Pressure
#1
I have a ResMed S9 Elite. My pressure statically with the hose deadheaded seems low. I made a jury rig water manometer and it appears to be 2 cm. low from the setting value. My question is: Does the ResScan or the SleepyHead software actually display the real pressure or is it just an indication of the setting value. I think the latter. Also if the static pressure is low it will be lower when air is flowing to the mask. My setting has been 12 cm for years and all of a sudden my AHI has gone up a lot. Is the flowing pressure with the mask in place supposed to be the setting value? I am wondering if the ResMed could have failed. My DME is a real loser so I do not trust them. I am buying a real water pressure gauge tomorrow. Thanks, Bob.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
How old is your S9? How many total hours are on it?
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I don't know the hours on it. Where can I get that info?

I have had it since Jan. 2012 and have had an average usage of at least 4-5 hours per day. Bob.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
P.S. I just did a quick calculation. From Jan, 16, 2012 to Apr. 6, 2015 is 1,176 days. At 4 hours per day that's a minimum of 4,704 hours.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
From your main screen you should be able to push the info button, and then turn the dial until you see the screen with run hours.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(04-06-2015, 04:35 PM)truetopath Wrote: From your main screen you should be able to push the info button, and then turn the dial until you see the screen with run hours.

Thanks. With it set to 12 cm H2O I measured the output as 10 cm H20. I took it to my DME. It was 2 cm H20 low so I set it to 14 to get 12 cm actual pressure as measured.

Would you believe that the hour counter said 180 hours. I have been using it every single day since Jan.2012 at a minimum of 4 hours/day and many times 7-8 hours/day. Bob.

Post Reply Post Reply


#7
You are probably seeing the last 30 days, if you keep turning that knob you will get to another set of numbers that will tell you the total hours.

Sirc
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
On an S9, "Run" hours are the non-resettable total hours on the machine.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Arch, do you need to be in the clinician manual on the S9 for the machine hours?
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
(04-06-2015, 10:57 PM)Sleeprider Wrote: Arch, do you need to be in the clinician manual on the S9 for the machine hours?

My DME read it as 180 hours. I assumed he knew what he was doing. Obviously not.How do I get the hour reading myself? Thanks, Bob.

Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Pressure] Changing pressure on HDM Z1 cpap dmh 22 27,013 05-22-2017, 07:38 PM
Last Post: ezhoops
  Resmed APAP Pressure RogerNZ 20 455 05-19-2017, 12:04 AM
Last Post: RogerNZ
  [Pressure] What is the theoritical correct pressure for a fixed pressure CPAP? Rcgop 13 346 05-14-2017, 09:00 PM
Last Post: ajack
  s9 elite "motor life exceeded",contact service rep. j beaty 6 308 05-08-2017, 06:07 PM
Last Post: bonjour
  Missing Humidity Menu on ResMed Elite Breatheasy ZZZZZzzzelda 5 173 05-08-2017, 07:44 AM
Last Post: ZZZZZzzzelda
  [Equipment] want to change pressure to cpap ECOSTAR fornica 2 183 05-06-2017, 10:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Sudden pressure jump - fixable? (ResMed) illustr8r 6 303 04-29-2017, 09:15 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.