Post Reply 
ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
Author Message
yyyy Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
I got my S9 stop working for a while. I can setup everything, but once I push the start/stop button, it shows:

Humidify Level
High Current fault
Contact your service provider

Well, it's been long, they are no longer in business.

I can't find cause anywhere. Does it mean electronic part got shot sometime? Can I replace a part? Rest of the machine seem well.

Also, if I push the start/stop button, the unit got restart sometime. And, when I plug power supply in, the humidifier part has a small red light flushes.

Please help, any suggestion is welcomed and appreciated!

08-22-2015 02:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,294
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
G'day yyyy, welcome to Apnea Board.

It sounds like your humidifier has a fault. What happens if you detach the humidifier from the main unit and turn on the main unit? Do you still get an error? If not, then you may need a new humidifier. Supplier No 2 (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List) has a used Resmed humidifier listed for $90 at present.

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-22-2015 03:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
Hi yyyy,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and good luck to you with getting your machine problems straightened out.
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
08-22-2015 02:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
yyyy Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
Thanks so much, I did disconnect the humidifier unit, the error message stays same, "humidifier" was in background.

It reset by itself once a while during my setup. Can I call Resmed support? or do I have to buy a new one? $569
08-22-2015 04:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,167
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
If it isn't the humidifier, it may be the heated hose or the power block.

OpalRose
08-22-2015 06:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
(08-22-2015 06:12 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  If it isn't the humidifier, it may be the heated hose or the power block.

It would not be the heated hose if he gets the error message with the humidifier disconnected from the machine.

YYYY,
Did you turn your machine off and pull the plug from the outlet while you disconnected the humidifier? Then plug back in and turn PAP unit on. Do you still get the same error message?

Best Regards,

PaytonA
08-22-2015 06:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
yyyy Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
PaytonA, Thanks much again. Yes, I did unplug power and hose and reset for a while, then start. The result are same, since I did it several times along the way, That's first thing I can think of.

Is their support friendly and helpful?
08-22-2015 08:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,844
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
(08-22-2015 08:13 PM)yyyy Wrote:  Is their support friendly and helpful?
friendly and helpful are relative terms.
About as friendly and helpful as AT&T, Dell or CitiBank.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-22-2015 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #9
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
You'll need technical bench service. The error is detected by a MOSFET device that monitors current flow and triggers the system off when it is out of normal parameters.
08-22-2015 09:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
yyyy Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: ResMed S9 Error "high current fault"
That could very well be, as my house got shocked by thunder once. I don't have whole house surge protector, so many phones and electronic devices get smoked, but this one was fine at that time.

Can I force a manufacturer reset?
08-23-2015 12:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Events way too high! sfrasher 22 1,186 11-22-2016 06:35 PM
Last Post: sfrasher
  High AHI (7.5) and don't know why fotomatt1 15 598 11-20-2016 05:38 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Pressure] Hypoxic- No Apneas- Pressure Too High? beardog 13 623 11-08-2016 06:19 PM
Last Post: PsychoMike
  Leaks (Too high?) sleepytimegal 9 427 11-06-2016 09:58 PM
Last Post: sleepytimegal
  Symptoms of pressure being too high?? MrEGuy 4 563 10-19-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: EnigmaGrey
  Why Are AHI High When Wide Awake? Dreams of Green 7 649 10-18-2016 09:35 PM
Last Post: 0rangebear
  [CPAP] Error code E33 1captnronrosser 3 264 10-14-2016 04:10 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)