Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

ResMed S9 Overheating
ResMed S9 Overheating
I have been using a ResMed S9 since December of 2012. Within the last six months I have had instances when the machine has overheated, sometimes displaying a message confirming the condition. This has happened with water in the on-board water tank. In other cases the machine has come on by itself with the mask completely unobstructed. I had taken this machine in to my provider (an affiliate of the dominant medical group in my region) complaining of the overheating. They read my data card and returned the S9, believing there was no problem. During May 2015 this happened causing the machine to run unattended for some four hours. Fortunately, I walked into my bedroom and noticed an odor resembling an electronic part or circuit board overheating. After noticing that the unobstructed mask was pushing out a full air volume I shut the machine down manually. I found the case extremely hot to the touch, but was able to disconnect the power cord. The water tank was completely empty. Has anyone else experienced this overheating problem with the ResMed S9?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: ResMed S9 Overhating
Sounds like a malfunction to me. The machine should not turn on by itself.

I would at the least turn off the SmartStart feature though that really should not be the issue.

What is the environment like? Smoking? Lots of Dust? Issues with line spikes and other electrical issue. Pets that can step on buttons? Does the unit sit on a flat surface?

[size=x-small]Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
Post Reply Post Reply
Filter clear?
Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. You can download your data through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.