Post Reply 
ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Author Message
MAPnea Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 176
Joined: May 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet - currently "set" on CPAP mode
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit F10 and P10 - varies
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New Sleep Doc + New DME = Trying new approach to PAP therapy.

Sex: Female
Location: near Great Basin National Park, Nevada

Post: #1
ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
I hope someone can help me with a message I am getting when I first plug in my ResMed S9. It says: "Are you sure? Invalid SD card, erase card data?" and below that is "Yes" or "No" and the "No" is highlighted in yellow.

This started two nights ago when I went on a short trip, plugged my machine in at a friend's house ... and up came this message. The machine will not start unless I remove the ResMed SD card... but will keep on going if I push the SD card back in a few minutes later.

Although I have downloaded the ResMed software, I have never put my SD card in the computer (or anywhere else) except in my ResMed S9 machine. Data was downloaded by the sleep doctor about four months ago. And this is the original SD card that came with my CPAP which I have been using since last October.

I have learned to get into the "guts" of the ResMed S9 (thanks to posts I've read here on Apnea Board) and I'm wondering if I managed to hit something in the menu that caused this message to appear on start up.

Thank you for any light you may be able to shed on this puzzling development.
(This post was last modified: 08-04-2013 01:47 PM by MAPnea.)
08-04-2013 01:46 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RonWessels Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 464
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Well, it looks like something has happened to your SD card (hopefully) or to your machine's card reader (hopefully not).

If you have a card reader attached to a Windows machine, try plugging in the SD card in it and seeing if Windows recognizes a valid partition. If so, copy off all the data you can from the card.

You only really have two choices. The first is to buy a new SD card to try to preserve whatever data is present in your old card. Your other option is to say "yes" when the machine wants to re-format the card. This will destroy all the data on the card, but will hopefully fix whatever corruption happened.

If re-formatting the card allows everything to work, you could think about putting the old data back again (if you were able to extract it). However, if you don't need it for insurance reasons, there is really no need.

If re-formatting the card still doesn't work, you can either buy a new SD card hoping it is the card that failed, or take the machine to a repair depot and have them diagnose the problem.
08-04-2013 01:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,776
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: AirSense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 10/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
By choosing "Yes" ... the machine over write the data and write therapy/compliance data (up to 365 days) on the card but you would loose any detailed data on the card as detailed data written directly on the card and not stored in machine memory

If detailed data is important to you ... download the data on your computer before letting the machine erasing the data so you don,t loose any detailed data. The card also stores 30 days of detailed data and 7 days of flow data
08-04-2013 02:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,413
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.6 - 18 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Dixon, Illinois, USA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
If you find the SD card needs to be re-formatted, I'd consider getting a new SD card to replace that one, which may be experiencing problems. SD cards are cheap - you can get them for around $5-10 easily, and you don't need a high capacity one for your S9 machine - a 2 GB card will do just fine.

Coffee

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

08-05-2013 07:23 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MAPnea Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 176
Joined: May 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet - currently "set" on CPAP mode
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit F10 and P10 - varies
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New Sleep Doc + New DME = Trying new approach to PAP therapy.

Sex: Female
Location: near Great Basin National Park, Nevada

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Thank you Ron, zonk and SuperSleeper for your suggestions. I decided my first step would be to download the data from my ResMed SD card which I did following the "Clinical Guide" step-by-step. I made a patient chart for myself, selected "all available data", "start download" and all seemed to go well. Actually, I was thrilled and quite pleased until....

Seems I can only get "Settings", "Statistics" and "Summary Graphs", but no "Detailed Graphs", not even on a single session. I was surprised to see that "Summary Graphs" went back to "day one" (October 16, 2012).

Any suggestions? Thanks so much! Margaret
(This post was last modified: 08-05-2013 08:34 AM by MAPnea.)
08-05-2013 08:32 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,776
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: AirSense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 10/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
(08-05-2013 08:32 AM)MAPnea Wrote:  Seems I can only get "Settings", "Statistics" and "Summary Graphs", but no "Detailed Graphs", not even on a single session. I was surprised to see that "Summary Graphs" went back to "day one" (October 16, 2012).

Any suggestions? Thanks so much! Margaret
Make sure "All available data" selected as shown (post #2) and page 14 of ResScan interpretation guide (post # 1) ... also can be set as "default" so always stay that way

[Image: attachment.php?aid=60]
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ersion-4-3
08-05-2013 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MAPnea Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 176
Joined: May 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet - currently "set" on CPAP mode
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit F10 and P10 - varies
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New Sleep Doc + New DME = Trying new approach to PAP therapy.

Sex: Female
Location: near Great Basin National Park, Nevada

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Thank you everyone!

I did, indeed, manage to download "all available data" on my first attempt earlier today, but I was simply not "getting" to where I wanted to "get": I want to see all those little flags (indicating, I assume, "events") that I see on the sleep doctor's monitor in his office. I realize now I need to sit down, carefully re-read the Clinical Guide to see if I missed anything in my haste to get to those "little flags" AND THEN do what zonk just suggested - start in on the ResScan Report Interpretation Guide.

I erased the ResMed data card and IT WORKS!! Well, at least I can turn on the S9 without a "data card" alert popping up in the screen.

I've learned so much on Apnea Board. Thank you for helping me build a bit of confidence as I begin to "take charge" of my own therapy!

Margaret
08-05-2013 04:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
weeble Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 116
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Zest Q
Humidifier: H5 Climate Control
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Gold Coast Australia

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
I know this is an older post, but I too have the same problem. If I turn the machine off, 9 out of 10 times the card works, but then suddenly it says I need to format it. I take the card out, insert it in pc and says there's no data. I put it back in s9 reformat and it works. It's a right royal pain and really, there is no need for it to be doing this. Very odd. Looking at other threads, it seems to be a common problem
10-05-2013 04:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Cobra4x4 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp
Humidifier: Resmed H5i Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 9.4 - 16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: BC, Canada

Post: #9
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
I had this problem also just the other night, called my DME and they sent me a new resmed SD card free of charge.
I downloaded all the data from the old one and formatted it using the computer (Format as Fat32) and it now works perfectly again so i ended up with 2 SD cards (I now have a spare).

I think what happens is that the SD cards data gets corrupted possibly because of a power surge or fluctuation, when the data becomes corrupt the machine doesn't know how to handle the data and thus stops.
10-05-2013 10:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
denrush Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Resmed HSI
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
[quote='RonWessels' pid='41964' dateline='1375645992']
Well, it looks like something has happened to your SD card (hopefully) or to your machine's card reader (hopefully not).

Your other option is to say "yes" when the machine wants to re-format the card. This will destroy all the data on the card, but will hopefully fix whatever corruption happened.

If re-formatting the card allows everything to work, you could think about putting the old data back again (if you were able to extract it). However, if you don't need it for insurance reasons, there is really no need.)))

I did the above now I would like to restore my patient data saved on the PC back onto the SD card. I can not see a way to do that in the RESCAN software menu.
05-24-2014 01:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  SD card extender car54 34 1,079 Yesterday 11:14 PM
Last Post: Galactus
  PR system one Sv auto advance not recording sd card zoophaugus 5 370 10-26-2014 10:26 AM
Last Post: racprops
  [CPAP] Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data stevef 18 1,702 10-23-2014 07:01 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  SD Card issue? PsychoMike 9 487 10-18-2014 08:54 AM
Last Post: PsychoMike
  SD Card for the Resmed line of machines Whitewabit 15 624 10-15-2014 11:36 AM
Last Post: Whitewabit
  RESMED S9 Setup Via SD Card Lloyd61 11 571 10-14-2014 07:47 PM
Last Post: Lloyd61
  [Equipment] SD Card and Sleepyhead jackwhittemore 8 482 10-13-2014 10:31 PM
Last Post: Gabby

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)