Post Reply 
ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Author Message
klmaish Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX for her
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #21
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
I've had the "invalid SD card" message for some time and tried various solutions (copying to my hard drive and back) without success until today! If I flip the switch on my SD card to LOCK, it prevents SleepyHead from writing on it and when I put it back in the S9, the error is gone! Try it!

PS. I talked to the Resmed people and they say it is no big deal to erase the card. Apparently all the data is on the machine and when it erased the card, it copies the important stuff back the next time you power up the machine. So this is not really a problem but I like the ducks all in a row!

Don't forget to flip the switch back before placing the card back in your S9.
09-02-2014 10:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #22
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
No doubt you are running a Win8 system. You missed the big party. We had a world series for SD data card corruption miscreants and Windows 8 won by a huge margin. In fact all other contenders failed to make the cut. Win8 seems to be the only system with enough colossal gall to presume it's OK to use the SD card for its own purposes rather than keep its hands off, like all the other systems and softwares are doing.

So, you're not really blocking SleepyHead but Win8. Be aware that the lock switch method works on most systems but some card readers have been known to ignore that switch and still allow writing to the card.
09-02-2014 10:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,847
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #23
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Windows 8 is the new Vista. Another fine pig of an operating system out of Redmond WA.
It seems it feels the need to write a hidden system file, "System Volume Information" which apparently holds restore points. Why they would think it necessary on an SD card is a mystery.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-02-2014 11:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Evpraxia Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 313
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift LT for Her - Nasal Pillows System
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-17
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Cat Staff, bibliophile, love Classical & Byzantine music

Sex: Female
Location: Pacific Northwest USA

Post: #24
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Thanks to all who took the time to troubleshoot this issue.

I have a ResMed S9 AutoSet, as of Saturday, 20 Sept, and so far my Windows 7 has behaved itself and I will be VERY careful IF I update to Windows 8.

But then, sitting beside me is my Sys Admin; otherwise known as my hubby (Athanasios, and he has just joined this board!). Who is a APAP/CPAP user since 2003. He helps me whenever I run into a problem - but we had NOT known about Windows 8 writing to a SD card until this forum figured it out.

Thanks again,

Evpraxia in the Pacific Northwest USA
Diagnosed: 44 AHI when supine, O2 down to 82%
Treated since 20 Sept 2014:: 0.7 AHI, Settings 7-15, EPR on Full Time at Level 3
Better living through CPAP/APAP machines!
09-22-2014 10:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #25
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
Welcome Athanasios to our humble little website... Your bride has been doing great! Now that you each have your own machine, maybe it's time to get one for the cat.


By the way: the problem does not occur on Windows 8. Just Windows 8.1. It's a new thing they did for us.
(This post was last modified: 09-22-2014 11:02 AM by retired_guy.)
09-22-2014 10:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Evpraxia Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 313
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift LT for Her - Nasal Pillows System
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-17
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Cat Staff, bibliophile, love Classical & Byzantine music

Sex: Female
Location: Pacific Northwest USA

Post: #26
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
(09-22-2014 10:59 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  Welcome Athanasios to our humble little website... Your bride has been doing great! Now that you each have your own machine, maybe it's time to get one for the cat.

And HER response would be: MeeOOOOWWWWW!

But, fire departments are starting to carry pet/cat respirators...so maybe a CPAP for a cat is not a bad idea. Grin!!!

Evpraxia in the Pacific Northwest USA
Diagnosed: 44 AHI when supine, O2 down to 82%
Treated since 20 Sept 2014:: 0.7 AHI, Settings 7-15, EPR on Full Time at Level 3
Better living through CPAP/APAP machines!
09-22-2014 11:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
WCassidy Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #27
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
I know this is an older post but I gotta say I'm so glad I found it! I was losing what's left of my mind with my Resmed S9 always saying "Invalid Data Card, Format... etc" Had zero idea it was Windoze 8 causing the issue!

Thank you folks for the info about Win 8. Much appreciated!
04-25-2015 10:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
holden4th Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 238
Joined: Dec 2015

Machine: PR System One REMStar 60 Series Auto with Bluetooth
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Dreamwear
Humidifier: Remstar Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 11- 15 APAP
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Gold Coast Australia

Post: #28
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
I just simply say Yes, knowing that the data will replaced.

BTW, if you insert a new SD card into the S9, will it format it for you?
03-18-2016 07:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
palerider Offline

Preferred Members-

Posts: 440
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: s9 vpap auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: p10
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 18/13+
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas(ish)

Post: #29
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?"
(03-18-2016 07:23 PM)holden4th Wrote:  I just simply say Yes, knowing that the data will replaced.

BTW, if you insert a new SD card into the S9, will it format it for you?
yes. the trick, as seen above, is keeping it from formatting the card Wink
03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Newbie with Smart Card Reader Problems MissSnuffleupagus 3 141 12-01-2016 09:36 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  When I Bring Card to Sleep Dr. Does He See.... harmon k 2 201 11-29-2016 09:00 PM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  Nw ASV machine does not download to SD card jmayer180 7 310 11-24-2016 01:11 PM
Last Post: ruach
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,447 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
Question CHANGING MACHINES - SD CARD srlevine1 3 232 10-31-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: srlevine1
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 535 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  No Data on SD Card jamr005 3 237 10-29-2016 08:22 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)