Post Reply 
ResMed S9 SD Card issue
Author Message
grizwilson Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: resmed swift pillows
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 11-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Missouri Ozarks

Post: #1
ResMed S9 SD Card issue
    Recently when i turned the S9 on, it gave me a msg "invalid data" do you want to erase?, did not want to lose data, so removed card, started machine, re installed card worked fine, until the next night. So, put in a standard kingston SD card, all worked well. My supplier sent a new ResMed Card, same issue as original.... Since no data stored on new clicked yes to erase, all seems fine???? Going to take in for a check up, any thoughts or experience would be appreciated. I had never taked my card out intentionally, might have knocked loose changing filter???? no windows 8 or anything as on other threads...???
(This post was last modified: 05-08-2014 04:23 PM by grizwilson.)
05-08-2014 04:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
Since you,re not using any software, unplug the machine from wall outlet, wait for a while and plug it back
Action is required otherwise the machine does not start with this message displayed on the screen
If you click yes, you,ll loose detailed data as detailed data stored on the card. The machine store therapy and compliance data (for insurance reporting) up to 365 days and write this data on the SD card whenever SD card inserted

Before you do that, might want to download the data on your computer so you don,t loose any detailed data, lock the card before inserting it in card reader so nothing get written on the card and corrupt it, unlock before insert in the machine

Welcome
(This post was last modified: 05-08-2014 04:42 PM by zonk.)
05-08-2014 04:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
Hi grizwilson,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responces to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
05-08-2014 05:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jaycee Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 115
Joined: May 2014

Machine: S-9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air Large
Humidifier: 5i
CPAP Pressure: 9-13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: RT at a DME

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
I've encountered lots of problems with Resmed SD cards. Power interruptions seem to really confuse the cards.

As above, saying YES doesn't do anything to the data on the machine. Losing the detailed data on the card really isn't a big deal IMO.
05-09-2014 10:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
As the others have said, losing data on the card is not a big problem. The machine will retain what's important for the sleep doc's and insurance co's use.

The fact that you have experienced this problem a couple of times without any apparent reason could point to a problem with the card reader in the machine itself. Or possibly even the logic board on the machine, although that is doubtful. In any case, keep an eye on it, and if it re-occurs you might want to investigate exercising the warranty on the machine.

Yes, it could just be crummy cards, but I doubt that too.
05-09-2014 11:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
There have been a few ResMed machines with crappy card readers.

Are you taking the card out to get the data off yourself? If so, are you "locking" it before you put it into your computer? Is your computer a Mac?

Or is the machine doing this all by itself just with the ResMed cards? If that's it, then I'd vote for bad card reader. Either that or the DME has a batch of bad cards but then everyone would be complaining, not just you.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-09-2014 07:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jball61 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage FX
Humidifier: Resmed S9 auto
CPAP Pressure: 10-15 cm (auto)
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Michigan

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
I just got a ResMed Auto 9. I removed the SD card to look at last nights data using ResScan. This worked great. However, when I put the card back in the machine it asks me if I really want to erase the data on the card. When I say no, it says to remove the SD card to start therapy. If I remove the card the machine will work fine but not record anything. If I say yes to erasing the data, the machine will record all subsequent data to the SD card. What this means is that I cannot view the data on the card without destroying it on the card when I put it back in. I read about "locking the card" what does this mean and how do you do it with the S9?
05-10-2014 10:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 SD Card issue
RE: JBall61

No problem.... Just let it erase the card. Once it does that, it will automatically write all the data back to it with the exception of the detailed graph stuff. That detailed stuff is kept on the card for only 7 days anyhow. So in other words a week from now it would drop off anyway. In the meantime you have it on the computer, and you have everything your sleep lab needs on the card at all times.

I predict you are using Windows 8.1. That operating system writes a stupid little file on the card when you stick it in the machine. That's what the Resmed is unhappy about. To avoid this in the future, set the "lock" on the card before you put it in the computer. But 5 months from now when you forget to do that, just let the Resmed have its way with the card and know all is in fine order.
(This post was last modified: 05-10-2014 11:31 AM by retired_guy.)
05-10-2014 11:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  My Leak Issue! harmon k 5 305 11-14-2016 05:22 PM
Last Post: edfreeman
  CPAP toppled over/water issue Visitor 5 633 11-12-2016 05:47 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,504 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  Dreamstation possible setting issue Sector001 5 377 10-14-2016 03:11 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Climateline hose end issue PsychoMike 4 396 10-13-2016 09:34 PM
Last Post: garymda
  [Equipment] Respironics REMstar Auto A-Flex 550P Issue PreciousRoy1981 27 24,144 09-30-2016 06:51 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  New to this w/mask issue Caseous 3 249 09-20-2016 07:29 PM
Last Post: Caseous

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)