Post Reply 
ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
Author Message
paulsav Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson Nasal Mask or ResMed Swift FX Nasal Pillows
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11 fixed
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: GA

Post: #1
ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
Hi- new to the Group and new CPAP user. I have a ResMed S9 machine and I can't figure out how to set the Temperature. From what I can find in other postings it is apparently on Auto. I can't find where to change the temp- it's too cold right now.

thanks
Paul
11-04-2014 11:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,845
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
Your profile says: Humdifier: None. It that incorrect... 'cause you cannot set a temp without one.
Now, if you do have an H5i connected, then you can set the humidifier depending on your type of hose.
For the climateline -- you set a temp. For a standard hose you set a number.
Plus, control must be set to the patient in the clinician's menu for you to have control.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-04-2014 11:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
paulsav Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson Nasal Mask or ResMed Swift FX Nasal Pillows
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11 fixed
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: GA

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
(11-04-2014 11:42 AM)justMongo Wrote:  Your profile says: Humdifier: None. It that incorrect... 'cause you cannot set a temp without one.
Now, if you do have an H5i connected, then you can set the humidifier depending on your type of hose.
For the climateline -- you set a temp. For a standard hose you set a number.
Plus, control must be set to the patient in the clinician's menu for you to have control.

Sorry my mistake. I do have a Humidifier- H5i, attached to the machine. thought S9 covered the entire unit. I will fix that. I think when I first got, I could change the temp.

Paul
11-04-2014 11:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
Hi paulsav,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
11-04-2014 11:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,845
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
(11-04-2014 11:46 AM)paulsav Wrote:  Sorry my mistake. I do have a Humidifier- H5i, attached to the machine. thought S9 covered the entire unit. I will fix that. I think when I first got, I could change the temp.

Paul

Now we need to know what type of hose. The climateline is push on and twist to lock the electrical contacts.

What do you see on the screen when you push the start button... if a number, then it's a regular hose and you turn the knob to increase temp of the humidifier warming plate. I run mine at 5.0.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-04-2014 11:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
If you see a single digit number (with a big blue "drip" symbol) when you turn the dial to set the temp, then you have the regular hose on. (Or you have the climate line and it is set to manual. Then you would have a second setting to set the temp.)

If you see a temp (with a thermometer and droplet double icon), then you have the climate line.

You do not see a temp unless you have the climate line on.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-04-2014 03:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
paulsav Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson Nasal Mask or ResMed Swift FX Nasal Pillows
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11 fixed
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: GA

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
(11-04-2014 03:05 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  If you see a single digit number (with a big blue "drip" symbol) when you turn the dial to set the temp, then you have the regular hose on. (Or you have the climate line and it is set to manual. Then you would have a second setting to set the temp.)

If you see a temp (with a thermometer and droplet double icon), then you have the climate line.

You do not see a temp unless you have the climate line on.

Thanks your comment made me check my hose. I had not twisted it into place so it "locked" and the electrical contacts mated. I now see thermometer and drop. Thanks for your help.

Paul
11-04-2014 06:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
Oh cool! I did something right today! Wasn't doing so hot on other stuff in Real Life. Oy.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-04-2014 06:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,327
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #9
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
I too have the same Resmed setup that you have. One of the best things I did was to purchase the climate line hose for this system. I set the air temperature to 85° and this has stopped all dry throat and coughing conditions.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
11-05-2014 10:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #10
RE: ResMed S9 Temp Setting ?
The setting will be different for each person depending on where they live and how they have their house set up. A climate line's sole purpose is to prevent rain out. If the temp of the room and the air temp in the hose are about the same, then there will not be enough condensation inside the hose to be a problem. If the room is cold and the air in the hose is warmer and humid, yep, gonna need one or you'll be rudely awakened by the Gurgling Hose Monster.

There is a sensor on the S9s that detects the ambient humidity in the room. If the room is already humid-ish, it won't heat up the water as much because there's already moisture in the air being sent to you. This is why some nights we run out of water before morning and some times it seems we can go all week and not use a drop.

So one person running it at 85F won't produce the same result as another person also running it at 85F.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-05-2014 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 172 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 292 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Need help with mask setting please trader37 3 281 11-03-2016 02:34 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Any setting changes when adding O2 to CPAP Ham Radio 2 179 10-28-2016 11:54 PM
Last Post: Ham Radio
  [CPAP] Setting up this auto a-flex is really intimidating. SierraMadreMe 6 379 10-27-2016 04:25 AM
Last Post: SierraMadreMe
  setting for starting choce Bill Hall 2 214 10-26-2016 08:20 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [How to] Dreamwear mask setting on A10 sonicboom 4 345 10-21-2016 08:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)