Post Reply 
ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
Author Message
Jack Mason Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2012

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: I5
CPAP Pressure: 5 - 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Virginia

Post: #1
ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
For about a week now I have had to reach over and push the power button to stop my S9 in the mornings. It is still set on auto start/stop. The auto start works fine. Any ideas.Thinking-about
04-18-2014 06:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
(04-18-2014 06:50 PM)Jack Mason Wrote:  It is still set on auto start/stop.
Start/Stop is the button to turn on/off the machine
If you mean 'SmartStart' then if set to 'ON' would works both ways, will start automatically when you breathe into the mask and will stop automatically you take the mask off

SmartStart does not works with nasal pillows masks at pressure below7 and when S9 first came out
SmartStart was not available with full face masks

Edit: are you using ResMed mask and mask type set correctly (Full Face for full face mask)
(This post was last modified: 04-18-2014 08:09 PM by zonk.)
04-18-2014 07:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Jack Mason Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2012

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: I5
CPAP Pressure: 5 - 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Virginia

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
Zonk, My machine is a S9 autoset it is about 2 years old I have always used the Resmed Mirage Quattro full face mask. I down loaded the SD card yesterday and it looks like the pressure was about 9psi when I woke up. I had to touch the power button to shut the unit down. I downloaded the card again this morning and there was no data on the card. I had not downloaded the card since last October. I guess I have been taking my machine for granted. There was only data on the card for the last two months. Is there a time period where it deletes old data?
04-19-2014 03:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
(04-19-2014 03:23 PM)Jack Mason Wrote:  There was only data on the card for the last two months. Is there a time period where it deletes old data?
Answer: http://www.s9morecomfort.com/s9morecomfo...ement.html

Whenever you put the card in the machine, the machine write therapy and compliance data on the card up to 365 days

Detailed data written directly on the card (not stored inside the machine) and get lost forever if the card was not inside the machine
The S9 SD card stores 365 days of therapy and compliance data, 30 days of detailed data, and 7 days of flow data
04-19-2014 03:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
ShelaghDB Offline

Members-b

Posts: 267
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: S9 Auto-Set +Resmed H5i
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air FF Mask
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
Interesting. I was not aware that the AutoSet turned itself off for you. On my Escape I just have to roll over and press the button off.

If I get up for a minute in the middle of the night, I just take off the mask and leave it on my bed blowing while I run out and back in to the bedroom so as I don't have to start it over and go through the ramp process again......just put it back on and back to sleep i go less than 10 seconds later.
But in the morning, yes, just reach over and turn it off.
But I was not aware that the Auto Set did that for you.....

Boy aren't you Auto Set people spoiled!!! LOL
05-21-2014 08:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SleepyDreamCatcher Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 63
Joined: May 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Pillairo Q
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: U.S.A.

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
(04-18-2014 07:56 PM)zonk Wrote:  
(04-18-2014 06:50 PM)Jack Mason Wrote:  It is still set on auto start/stop.
Start/Stop is the button to turn on/off the machine
If you mean 'SmartStart' then if set to 'ON' would works both ways, will start automatically when you breathe into the mask and will stop automatically you take the mask off

SmartStart does not works with nasal pillows masks at pressure below7 and when S9 first came out
SmartStart was not available with full face masks

Edit: are you using ResMed mask and mask type set correctly (Full Face for full face mask)


I'm using a Pillairo Q nasal pillow mask with my pressure set to 6 on my S9 AutoSet and the SmartStart works at that pressure. I love this feature. Too-happy-2


You do have to give the machine a few seconds to turn off. I think it waits to see if you are going to reattach the hose. Once it is sure you are not going to start breathing through it again it will turn off.
05-21-2014 08:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 - The autostop has stopped working?
(05-21-2014 08:07 PM)ShelaghDB Wrote:  Interesting. I was not aware that the AutoSet turned itself off for you. On my Escape I just have to roll over and press the button off.

Even on the AutoSet, the autostart can be enabled or disabled. It might be there on the Escape, but I'm not sure.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
05-21-2014 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 253 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Changes in how the machine has been working? Xinectyl 9 318 11-07-2016 12:02 PM
Last Post: Xinectyl
Gross [Equipment] Unit not working Monty6894 3 372 09-18-2016 06:52 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Equipment] Dreamstation Auto ON/OFF set but not working newb 11 2,199 09-14-2016 02:39 PM
Last Post: rkl122
  Remstar quit working ropdve 4 387 09-06-2016 05:11 PM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Treatment] Auto CPAP, high/erratic AHI, high Clear Apneas - it's not working jmortensenjr 10 770 08-30-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: jmortensenjr
  DreamStation Humidifier working/testing? NorthernGuy 6 548 08-23-2016 09:43 PM
Last Post: justMongo

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)