Post Reply 
ResMed S9 fails
Author Message
geoffleach Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8cm
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Mountain Ranch CA USA

Post: #1
Question ResMed S9 fails
A curious situation with my nearly-new ResMed S9.

The S9 stopped pumping air after several hours. The display showed the ResMed logo going on and off. The buttons were unresponsive. When I turned it on several hours later, it worked normally.

I looked at the data with ResScan. It appeared unremarkable.

Anyone have similar behaviour? Loosing air suddenly is very uncomfortable!
09-16-2013 11:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 fails
(09-16-2013 11:20 PM)geoffleach Wrote:  A curious situation with my nearly-new ResMed S9.

The S9 stopped pumping air after several hours. The display showed the ResMed logo going on and off. The buttons were unresponsive. When I turned it on several hours later, it worked normally.

I looked at the data with ResScan. It appeared unremarkable.

Anyone have similar behaviour? Loosing air suddenly is very uncomfortable!

That had to be very scary! I am curious....can you describe how you have your CPAP set up and the location of all of the components/power supply, etc.?

That being said, is your CPAP set up for smart start? I believe I read someone else had this problem or a similar one and when they turned off the smart start, it didn't happen again.

Your machine is new so it wouldn't hurt for you to take it back. Also, you can call Resmed and see what they say.

Hope this helps a little
09-17-2013 02:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
geoffleach Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8cm
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Mountain Ranch CA USA

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 fails
The S9 sits on the nightstand next to the bed. The air tube is laid across the top of the bed.

I do have Smart Start enabled. I'll keep that in mind should it start happening again. Last night it did not happen, thankfully.
09-17-2013 08:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 fails
Glad it didn't happen last night. Is your power supply on the nightstand as well?
09-17-2013 09:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 fails
I was told by an RT at a DME (and I don't know if this is true or not since some of the info she imparted was completely wrong) that similar malfunction can be caused by the power brick being placed too close to the S9 (overheating unit) or by the power brick being placed in a cramped, unventilated area (power brick overheating). She warned to place the power brick away from the machine and out in the open where heat could dissipate; which I do as a matter of course - being all too familiar with overheating power bricks because of past ownership of an HP laptop.

I don't know if this could have been the problem or not; but, if I were you I'd call ResMed for an explanation and/or seriously consider taking back to the place of purchase for a replacement.

Sleep-well
09-17-2013 09:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 fails
(09-17-2013 09:58 AM)jgjones1972 Wrote:  I was told by an RT at a DME (and I don't know if this is true or not since some of the info she imparted was completely wrong) that similar malfunction can be caused by the power brick being placed too close to the S9 (overheating unit) or by the power brick being placed in a cramped, unventilated area (power brick overheating). She warned to place the power brick away from the machine and out in the open where heat could dissipate; which I do as a matter of course - being all too familiar with overheating power bricks because of past ownership of an HP laptop.

I don't know if this could have been the problem or not; but, if I were you I'd call ResMed for an explanation and/or seriously consider taking back to the place of purchase for a replacement.

Sleep-well

I was told the same thing by Resmed but Resmed reps also told me of 2 other things that I cannot remember right now. I had 2 Resmed CPAP's do this and when they replaced it the 2nd time (after I called Resmed to ask why this kept happening) this is what they told me (the DME didn't know about this and I gave them the list of 4 things Resmed told me). I didn't like the power supply on the floor but had no alternative and I never had a problem with my CPAP again.
09-17-2013 10:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 fails
Check all the connections.

Remove the water tank first. Wiggle, inspect, plug and unplug all the connections, including the wall plug, the detachable cord on the power brick, the plug on the back of the CPAP. Remove the humidifier from the blower and reconnect or run without the humidifier.

Plug a regular incandescent lamp into the same outlet. If the problems happen, turn on the lamp and look for flickering.

Feel the power brick and CPAP to see if anything is overly warm.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
09-19-2013 01:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question resmed s9 autoset ramp fails geoffleach 13 6,001 08-09-2013 12:14 PM
Last Post: geoffleach

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)