Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

ResMed S9 wireless modem
#1
Hello all,

So as the rep delivered my new S9, I was told all data was being collected by ResMed for improvement purposes. Honestly, I do not believe that at all. Do any of you guys have any experience with the wireless modem? How does that work? Who monitors such data that it being collected. I assume as I'm being in the military, data goes to some data base which does not worry me as I love to sleep with my machine. Just curious to know what you guys think/say about it.

Thanks!!!!
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
"Improvement" purposes is a bunch of bull hockey.

Usually the modem is to collect compliance data, meaning they're making sure you are using it. The supplier collects the data and sends it on to whoever requested it in the first place which is usually whoever is paying for the device. The modem means you don't have to take the memory card in to get the data taken from it. I don't think anyone has come here and said they're doc actually looked at the data for treatment purposes. It is almost always just for compliance reasons.

I believe it is a cellular modem and not reliant on your own system.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Yes, I believe the wireless modem connects to some version of the cellphone network, not your own internet connection.

The data is collected and should be available to your doctor. It is very valuable data if he uses it. I think, but I'm not sure, that it only collects "usage" and "apnea event" data, not the same "breathing" data the SD card does, so detailed analysis will need the SD card.

As for "improvement," what do you think they meant? Improving your threatment, or improving the design of the machine? It could be used for both purposes.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(05-06-2013, 01:38 AM)archangle Wrote: Yes, I believe the wireless modem connects to some version of the cellphone network, not your own internet connection.

The data is collected and should be available to your doctor. It is very valuable data if he uses it. I think, but I'm not sure, that it only collects "usage" and "apnea event" data, not the same "breathing" data the SD card does, so detailed analysis will need the SD card.

As for "improvement," what do you think they meant? Improving your threatment, or improving the design of the machine? It could be used for both purposes.


Thanks Archangle,

I'm pretty sure data it's being collected to be sent to my primary care provider on a remote location. I doubt it's being collected for machine improvements.

Take care!

Post Reply Post Reply
#5
The tech explained that the modem they gave me with the machine is a cellular modem. I assume it collects compliance data; I doubt they provide any info to my doctor. I don't have AT&T cellular coverage at my home and the modem is on the AT&T network so I take the machine in to the office every 3-4 weeks. That allows them to confirm I am using the machine to my insurance company.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(05-06-2013, 04:29 PM)aehjr Wrote: I don't have AT&T cellular coverage at my home and the modem is on the AT&T network so I take the machine in to the office every 3-4 weeks. That allows them to confirm I am using the machine to my insurance company.

Would they allow you to simply bring in the SD card? That would be a lot easier than lugging your CPAP machine into their office every 3-4 weeks I would think. Everything they need should be on the card.

Thinking-about
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I've been using the S9 for since December 2012 and I was provided with the modem as well.

From what I have seen of this device and the one report I had to obtain from my DME, the modem uploads compliance and basic summary data to a back end server run/maintained by ResMed using the AT&T cellular data network.

The DME (and possibly the doctor) can then accesses a web site run by ResMed to access patient data and to print reports from this web site. Search ResMed EasyCare Online

www . resmed.com/us/products/easycare_online/easycare-online.html?nc=clinicians

Good for the DME as they don't have to maintain the software and hardware that using ResScan software would require of them. Bad for us if they stop making/supporting ResScan or jack up the prices to support the modem bills.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(05-07-2013, 10:37 AM)SuperSleeper Wrote: Would they allow you to simply bring in the SD card? That would be a lot easier than lugging your CPAP machine into their office every 3-4 weeks I would think. Everything they need should be on the card.

Super Sleeper - Sorry for the confusion. I bring the CPAP to work with me. My office is in an area that has AT&T coverage.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Does anyone know if EasyCare Online for Resmed S9 is for patients or clinicians only? If not is there other ways for me to see how I am doing with my machine? thanks
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Depends on which S9 you have. If your machine has the word "Escape" in the name, then the only data you will have is how many hours you have used it each night (compliance data). Using software is pointless.

If you have one that does NOT have that word, then yes, there are two software programs you can use to view the data, SleepyHead and ResScan.

You can get them both here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-P...-and-Links
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Wireless connection issue in Canada on AirSense 10 Autoset? josephww 21 989 12-01-2017, 03:10 PM
Last Post: pholynyk
  Philips DreamStation Modem nlewis 10 422 09-18-2017, 05:33 PM
Last Post: aquanaut20
  Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10 Sleep87 77 23,392 09-13-2017, 08:41 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  How much data is sent by modem? Sleep Viking 4 309 08-26-2017, 10:20 AM
Last Post: TASmart
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 5 784 06-14-2017, 10:38 PM
Last Post: Rexkw
  [Equipment] Wireless transfer feature question wayne1600 4 405 06-11-2017, 08:29 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Time Setting on Dreamstation without Cellular modem elitheelephant 1 282 06-03-2017, 11:00 PM
Last Post: pupcamper

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.