Post Reply 
ResMed unit won't work unless I cycle the SD Card out and in
Author Message
JBee Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: AirFit F10
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4.0 to 8.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
ResMed unit won't work unless I cycle the SD Card out and in
I just removed and returned the radio modem unit. Now my CPAP unit will not work until I pull the SDcard out and reinsert it. It keeps giving me the message "Reading SD Card". I pulled the power on the unit and plugged back in and it may work - not sure until this evening.
Anybody know what the problem is?
11-27-2014 03:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: ResMed unit won't work unless I cycle the SD Card out and in
When you say "Will not work" do you mean you push the power button and it does not blow air? But when you remove the card and put it back in, then it will blow air when you push the power button?

If that is the case, it sounds as if there are commands on the card from the supplier. They often do that to keep the settings on the machine. It *could* be the card is telling the machine there is a modem, but now there isn't. If you have a card reader, put the card into the reader, copy everything from the card onto your computer, then delete everything from the card. Just select it all and hit the delete key. Don't worry because you moved it all to your computer so it is safe. You can always drag/drop it back onto the card.

Remove it from the reader and put it back into the machine. The machine may want to re-format the card and that is fine.

If you do not have a card reader, as long as the machine is blowing air when you push the power button, then it should be working. You could put on the mask, turn on the machine, and see if it rises to the minimum pressure, which you can see on the screen.

Problem is, this problem will continue until either you get the supplier to reset the card or you do it.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-27-2014 05:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: ResMed unit won't work unless I cycle the SD Card out and in
(11-27-2014 03:34 PM)JBee Wrote:  Now my CPAP unit will not work until I pull the SDcard out and reinsert it. It keeps giving me the message "Reading SD Card".
Was there any message asking you to remove the SD card?

Normally, when you insert the card in the machine, the machine display the message "Reading SD Card" briefly and then the message disappear
11-27-2014 09:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed unit won't work unless I cycle the SD Card out and in
Try another SD card. Sometimes they go bad. Pretty much any SD or SDHC card will work as long as it's 2 GB or bigger. If you've got a digital camera that uses and SD card, try that. If you put in a new card, the machine will say something about "can't read data, Erase Y/N?" Let it erase the card. (Of course, if it's your digital camera data card, get your data off of the card first.)

ResMed says to use only their brand SD card for safety reasons. They also say SDHC cards won't work, but many of us find that they do work OK. There are links in my signature line to the ResMed info.

There's a lot of experiments you could try, but if a new card works, I wouldn't worry about it.

You could also just take the card out and leave it out if you can't make the machine work without it. The machine will still record the most important data even without the card.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
11-27-2014 09:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,435 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
Gross [Equipment] Unit not working Monty6894 3 356 09-18-2016 06:52 AM
Last Post: cate1898
Question What Pulse Oximeters work with SleepyHead? jerod 20 7,557 09-05-2016 05:47 PM
Last Post: Marthajoy7
  GoodKnight unit ramps down, "drops out of warp" jpap 5 309 09-05-2016 06:04 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  Saving & Restoring Card to unit R_W_B 11 438 09-04-2016 06:15 PM
Last Post: R_W_B
  [Pressure] Any way to work around lowest pressure setting? frankzzz 6 508 08-17-2016 04:54 PM
Last Post: frankzzz
  [CPAP] Battery powered unit for motorcycle camping David Petersen 9 3,731 07-19-2016 12:55 PM
Last Post: MrGadget

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)