Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

ResMed unit won't work unless I cycle the SD Card out and in
#1
I just removed and returned the radio modem unit. Now my CPAP unit will not work until I pull the SDcard out and reinsert it. It keeps giving me the message "Reading SD Card". I pulled the power on the unit and plugged back in and it may work - not sure until this evening.
Anybody know what the problem is?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
When you say "Will not work" do you mean you push the power button and it does not blow air? But when you remove the card and put it back in, then it will blow air when you push the power button?

If that is the case, it sounds as if there are commands on the card from the supplier. They often do that to keep the settings on the machine. It *could* be the card is telling the machine there is a modem, but now there isn't. If you have a card reader, put the card into the reader, copy everything from the card onto your computer, then delete everything from the card. Just select it all and hit the delete key. Don't worry because you moved it all to your computer so it is safe. You can always drag/drop it back onto the card.

Remove it from the reader and put it back into the machine. The machine may want to re-format the card and that is fine.

If you do not have a card reader, as long as the machine is blowing air when you push the power button, then it should be working. You could put on the mask, turn on the machine, and see if it rises to the minimum pressure, which you can see on the screen.

Problem is, this problem will continue until either you get the supplier to reset the card or you do it.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(11-27-2014, 03:34 PM)JBee Wrote: Now my CPAP unit will not work until I pull the SDcard out and reinsert it. It keeps giving me the message "Reading SD Card".
Was there any message asking you to remove the SD card?

Normally, when you insert the card in the machine, the machine display the message "Reading SD Card" briefly and then the message disappear
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Try another SD card. Sometimes they go bad. Pretty much any SD or SDHC card will work as long as it's 2 GB or bigger. If you've got a digital camera that uses and SD card, try that. If you put in a new card, the machine will say something about "can't read data, Erase Y/N?" Let it erase the card. (Of course, if it's your digital camera data card, get your data off of the card first.)

ResMed says to use only their brand SD card for safety reasons. They also say SDHC cards won't work, but many of us find that they do work OK. There are links in my signature line to the ResMed info.

There's a lot of experiments you could try, but if a new card works, I wouldn't worry about it.

You could also just take the card out and leave it out if you can't make the machine work without it. The machine will still record the most important data even without the card.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Any Apnea Apps best, that work? squarehead 11 326 03-19-2017, 02:35 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 31 29,885 03-14-2017, 09:34 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Symptoms] Too tired to think clear at work? RichPeacefulSleep 5 291 02-18-2017, 07:32 PM
Last Post: RichPeacefulSleep
  Please Help Getting AirFit P10s to Work For Me (Higher AHIs) Spy Car 16 806 01-02-2017, 04:33 PM
Last Post: Spy Car
  Respironics 9 minute cycle with no events. pixpop 2 239 12-06-2016, 09:17 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 3,557 11-03-2016, 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
Gross [Equipment] Unit not working Monty6894 3 516 09-18-2016, 06:52 AM
Last Post: cate1898

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.