Thread Closed 
ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.5) [Archived Discussions]
Author Message
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #251
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
Let me see if I can explain my problem without confusing anyone or myself.

I went to bed at 2:31am on Dec 19th and woke up at 12:29pm.

SleepyHead translated that to be the 18th and considered it 2 sessions, one from 2:31 until noon, then the next from noon to 12:29. No issues, data is fine. The date confusion is normal and I've gotten used to it. I rarely go to bed the same day I got up. (it's a big family joke, actually)

ResScan, however, says I slept from 2:31 to noon on the 18th and then put those 29 minutes onto the 19th.

But now, when I want to download the data from last night, it wants to overwrite the data for the 19th. If I discard it, I get no data for last night. If I select overwrite, it will overwrite all those other days still on the card.

I don't like ResScan and find it very confusing. This may be the final nail on it's proverbial coffin for me.

Is there a way to trick it into just replacing that one session so I can import the correct data? I considered going into the profile and deleting what it has saved for those 29 minutes but didn't want to mess anything up.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
12-20-2012 03:17 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #252
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 02:46 PM)A KLERK Wrote:  Happy Holydays to all of you from the Netherlands!
same to you ... Welcome

now you need this guide to interpret Resscan
http://www.apneaboard.com/ResScan_Interpretation-Guide.pdf
12-20-2012 03:19 PM
Find all posts by this user
Tree-Spirit Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8,2-11,2
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Germany

Post: #253
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 02:46 PM)A KLERK Wrote:  ...Later I installed 4.1 and did not notice any difference!

I installed 4.1 over 3.16 and did not notice any functional difference. Only sometimes it it's working a little bit quicker, f.e. at quitting the program.

I use it under good old Win XP as a Virtual Mashine on Mac OS 10.6.8. I am very glad to use this software, because I am able to optimize the parameter. It works very good - on this way I changed my AHI from 9,6 to 2,8. To set the controls at home is very much better than in the clinic! Thank's to those, who make this possible. My life is thereby much better.
12-20-2012 03:20 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
A KLERK Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 185
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro Air
Humidifier: H5i + Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 4-14 cmH2O
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: (aka Boudewijn), Coordinator for translating SleepyHead

Sex: Male
Location: Oosterhout, The Netherlands

Post: #254
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
I'll have to do with my old S8 for a few more years, I am afraid... Just received that when the S9 came out.
Tree-Spirit, what parameter(s) did you change to optimize?
12-20-2012 03:46 PM
Find all posts by this user
jdireton Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 149
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: ClimateLine Hose

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #255
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
Paula,

Resmed considers the "day" to be from noon to noon. Works for most of us. When you "over write" on the download, it's just saying that there is already data there for that day, the 29 minutes will still be there, along with the new data from that "night." It will look really weird on the usage graphs. You're not going to lose anything.

Now, if you do lose your data, I'll have to leave the country and I promise to feel bad. Hope this helps.
12-20-2012 04:06 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #256
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 03:17 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  SleepyHead translated that to be the 18th and considered it 2 sessions, one from 2:31 until noon, then the next from noon to 12:29. No issues, data is fine. The date confusion is normal and I've gotten used to it. I rarely go to bed the same day I got up. (it's a big family joke, actually)

Paula, SleepyHead will go one better and combine the entire session, go to Preferences and set the "Combine Close Sessions" to a higher number of minutes, I set mine to the max of 240 minutes since I don't take naps and I want the entire session to display as one session since I sometimes sleep past 12:00 too.

(12-20-2012 03:17 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  ResScan, however, says I slept from 2:31 to noon on the 18th and then put those 29 minutes onto the 19th.

One option, to remove the 29 minutes you can right-click on the orange bar in the Data Tree on the left for one particular day and select "Delete Session" and now it won't use that data to affect your subsequent data that day when you download your new data for that day.

(12-20-2012 03:17 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  But now, when I want to download the data from last night, it wants to overwrite the data for the 19th. If I discard it, I get no data for last night. If I select overwrite, it will overwrite all those other days still on the card.

Like JD said, select "Overwrite" when importing new data and you'll have both the 29 minute session AND the later session for that day. It is overwriting with the same exact data plus the new data.

If you use my first option and delete the 29 minutes of data you don't want to use overwrite since it will add the 29 minutes back.

(12-20-2012 03:17 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  I don't like ResScan and find it very confusing. This may be the final nail on it's proverbial coffin for me.

Like I've previously stated in other posts, ResScan IS a "kludge" program and SleepyHead is much more user-friendly AND intuitive, it does need a few tweaks here and there but for a patient monitoring their own therapy, SleepyHead is much better than ResScan.

ResScan does a much better job of maintaining hundred's of patient's data and we all know most DME's are only concerned with compliance data and AHI, something ResScan is well suited for. It's a royal pain trying to zoom-in to see your flow graph or any other graph, SleepyHead is as easy as a mouse-click.

(12-20-2012 03:17 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Is there a way to trick it into just replacing that one session so I can import the correct data? I considered going into the profile and deleting what it has saved for those 29 minutes but didn't want to mess anything up.

Asked and answered! Too-funny

Ren
(This post was last modified: 12-20-2012 08:00 PM by TheWerkz.)
12-20-2012 07:57 PM
Find all posts by this user
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #257
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 07:57 PM)TheWerkz Wrote:  It's a royal pain trying to zoom-in to see your flow graph or any other graph, SleepyHead is as easy as a mouse-click.
no pain no gain Too-funny
yep you can zoom ... see Resscan tutorial video and guide

http://www.apneaboard.com/resscan.htm
http://www.apneaboard.com/ResScan_Interpretation-Guide.pdf
12-20-2012 08:12 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #258
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 03:19 PM)zonk Wrote:  now you need this guide to interpret Resscan
http://www.apneaboard.com/ResScan_Interpretation-Guide.pdf

Oh yeah something else I have to print out. Thanks for reminding me.
I'm excited that I'll finally get an AutoSet. I have to wait for the new year but it's finally happening. Got the prescription here. Well, they have a copy of my prescription but let me keep the original.
I never printed this out because, hey, I've got a "brick" but it's going to be traded up. Finally.
12-20-2012 10:06 PM
Find all posts by this user
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #259
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 10:06 PM)Ugly Wrote:  I'm excited that I'll finally get an AutoSet. I have to wait for the new year but it's finally happening.

Congratulations Ugly! Coffee

It's been a long time coming!
12-20-2012 10:12 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,991
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #260
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.1)
(12-20-2012 07:57 PM)TheWerkz Wrote:  Like I've previously stated in other posts, ResScan IS a "kludge" program and SleepyHead is much more user-friendly AND intuitive, it does need a few tweaks here and there but for a patient monitoring their own therapy, SleepyHead is much better than ResScan.

ResScan does a much better job of maintaining hundred's of patient's data and we all know most DME's are only concerned with compliance data and AHI, something ResScan is well suited for. It's a royal pain trying to zoom-in to see your flow graph or any other graph, SleepyHead is as easy as a mouse-click.

I don't use ResScan because I don't have a ResMed machine.
I use EncoreBasic because I have a Respironics machine.

My preference by far is for SleepyHead.

I find that everything you said in your comparison of ResScan to SleepyHead is exactly the same as my comparison of EncoreBasic to SleepyHead.

And the other flavors of Encore are almost exactly the same. Only DME's would find them of any use.

SleepyHead rules! Please consider supporting the author.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 12-21-2012 01:33 AM by Sleepster.)
12-21-2012 01:31 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Arrow [Admin Note] ResScan - [version 5.7] SuperSleeper 57 7,023 12-01-2016 12:43 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 323 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  ResScan - not supported jmitchell151 2 129 11-23-2016 11:23 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  new ResMed machine and ResScan software issue fluffyetal 1 184 11-18-2016 06:40 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  can resscan read cards from two machines whirschb 8 489 11-14-2016 04:03 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
Question ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library cobaltpanther 6 594 11-12-2016 02:19 PM
Last Post: Kitalarium
  ResScan Prometheus 4 357 11-04-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)