Thread Closed 
ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.5) [Archived Discussions]
Author Message
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 409
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #381
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
(07-25-2013 06:44 PM)andyjh64 Wrote:  Hi Sorry if this has been answered before, I know that's annoying but I did look! Smile

I've got a Resmed AutoSet Spirit II and I've downloaded the ResScan software but I can't see an obvious way to connect the machine. There is a removable panel at the back that reveals what looks like some kind of data plug but I can't see a card, SD or otherwise. Is it possible that the machine was supplied without a card? When I have taken the machine to the sleep centre in the past I seem to remember them connecting it with some kind of cable. Serial-USB maybe? Has the data been somehow recorded internally so far, and how can I retrieve it? Or should I get a card and start again? Will an SD Card work in this device? Anyone got any ideas? Thanks!

A data card is usable with your machine, but it requires an expensive card reader. You may be better off putting the money toward a new machine. FWIW, here is the info for downloading the data:

When you take off that removable panel, there are two sets of electrical contacts. The contacts on the edge of the motherboard are designed to connect to a data module (impossible to find) for connecting the machine to a computer with a cable.

There is another set of contacts further back inside the machine for a smart card, which is a data card using 1980's technology. The card consists of an electronic chip embedded in a piece of credit card stock that is about the size of a stick of chewing gum. The data card is available from supplier no. 10 on the supplier list. Search the site for ResScan S8 Series ResMed Data Cards.

The removable panel on the back of the machine may or may not have a slot for inserting a data card; however, it is just a plain piece of plastic. I have verified that the machine can write to the data card with the cover removed. An expensive, oddball data card reader is required. Search eBay for ResScan, but the one supplier is in Israel and is almost sold out. You will need to install one of the three drivers included with ResScan, the driver for the SmartMedia Card Reader.
07-25-2013 11:11 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Bronski Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: ResMed Elite
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post: #382
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
A huge thank you for making the software available!!
No more needing to take a day off work to get my SD card read and a report printed.
Before then taking another day off to see my Sleep Disorder Doctor.
Thanks also for all the other links - nice to know how to adjust my own machines settings!!
07-26-2013 01:28 AM
Find all posts by this user
andyjh64 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 8.2-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Queensland, Australia

Post: #383
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
Thanks Big_dave



(07-25-2013 11:11 PM)big_dave Wrote:  
(07-25-2013 06:44 PM)andyjh64 Wrote:  Hi Sorry if this has been answered before, I know that's annoying but I did look! Smile

I've got a Resmed AutoSet Spirit II and I've downloaded the ResScan software but I can't see an obvious way to connect the machine. There is a removable panel at the back that reveals what looks like some kind of data plug but I can't see a card, SD or otherwise. Is it possible that the machine was supplied without a card? When I have taken the machine to the sleep centre in the past I seem to remember them connecting it with some kind of cable. Serial-USB maybe? Has the data been somehow recorded internally so far, and how can I retrieve it? Or should I get a card and start again? Will an SD Card work in this device? Anyone got any ideas? Thanks!

A data card is usable with your machine, but it requires an expensive card reader. You may be better off putting the money toward a new machine. FWIW, here is the info for downloading the data:

When you take off that removable panel, there are two sets of electrical contacts. The contacts on the edge of the motherboard are designed to connect to a data module (impossible to find) for connecting the machine to a computer with a cable.

There is another set of contacts further back inside the machine for a smart card, which is a data card using 1980's technology. The card consists of an electronic chip embedded in a piece of credit card stock that is about the size of a stick of chewing gum. The data card is available from supplier no. 10 on the supplier list. Search the site for ResScan S8 Series ResMed Data Cards.

The removable panel on the back of the machine may or may not have a slot for inserting a data card; however, it is just a plain piece of plastic. I have verified that the machine can write to the data card with the cover removed. An expensive, oddball data card reader is required. Search eBay for ResScan, but the one supplier is in Israel and is almost sold out. You will need to install one of the three drivers included with ResScan, the driver for the SmartMedia Card Reader.
07-28-2013 04:33 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
NancyMidland Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2013

Machine: Resmed Elite S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Swift FX
Humidifier: Resmed HSI
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #384
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
I downloaded the software and have been using it. I met with sleep lab people twice to review things I see when looking at the software and they are pleased I have it and use it.

BUT--I realized that I do not have the option of having flow data. Can anyone help me? It simply is not on the list of graphs to show.
08-01-2013 08:54 AM
Find all posts by this user
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #385
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
It should be labeled "Detailed Data" in ResScan. You have to open days individually. If detailed data is not showing in your ResScan downloads you might have your Elite set to not record it. Go into the "Clinical Settings" menu on your Elite (hold down the knob button and double check mark button for three seconds) find the "Sleep Quality" setting and make sure it is set to "On". The machine writes the detailed Waveform data directly to the SD card, so it has to be in the machine while using it and it will only store 7 days worth on the card - so you won't be able to retrieve detailed data from before "Sleep Quality" was turned on, but you should be good to go from now on as long as you download to ResScan every 7 days or more often. Also, when the detailed data is in ResScan but has been wiped from the SD card (after 7 days) ResScan wil say there is duplicate data and ask if you want to overwrite from the card or discard. Always choose "discard" or it will overwrite the version without detailed data, wiping the detailed data from the folder in ResScan.

Sleep-well
08-01-2013 09:16 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
NancyMidland Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2013

Machine: Resmed Elite S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Swift FX
Humidifier: Resmed HSI
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #386
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
I download daily. I download all detailed data and have lots of graphs, but the software does not give the option to check for flow data. I have pressure, leak, minute ventilation, flow limitation, AHI, events and snore index as options. No flow option.

Since that is what the tech looks at when I am at the sleep lab, it is obviously important data. I have no way of getting that data apparently since it is not an option listed under graphing options.

Do I need to redownload the software? Is it possible that the download was flawed somehow? I just downloaded it in May so I'm guessing it's the newest version.
08-01-2013 09:28 AM
Find all posts by this user
Jason Hamby Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #387
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
Hello out there - I am considering downloading this program to read the SD card off a ResMed S9 - if I read the card, will the info still remain on the card for my Doc to see - I don't want to delete or mess up what they need to see.
08-01-2013 11:31 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Paptillian Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 474
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 10, EPR x2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post: #388
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
(08-01-2013 09:28 AM)NancyMidland Wrote:  I download daily. I download all detailed data and have lots of graphs, but the software does not give the option to check for flow data. I have pressure, leak, minute ventilation, flow limitation, AHI, events and snore index as options. No flow option.

Since that is what the tech looks at when I am at the sleep lab, it is obviously important data. I have no way of getting that data apparently since it is not an option listed under graphing options.

Do I need to redownload the software? Is it possible that the download was flawed somehow? I just downloaded it in May so I'm guessing it's the newest version.

I do have a flow option listed in my Graphing Options. The Elite and the AutoSet both support this data type according to ResMed documentation.

Just to make sure, do you have the same version as in the picture below?

[Image: version.jpg] [Image: flow_graphing_options.jpg]

I know you already said you did this, but just to double-check here are my data download options. You can get to the second screen by clicking on the "Select" button next to the "Data" field in the first screen.

[Image: download_data_dialog.jpg] [Image: download_options.jpg]

(08-01-2013 11:31 AM)Jason Hamby Wrote:  Hello out there - I am considering downloading this program to read the SD card off a ResMed S9 - if I read the card, will the info still remain on the card for my Doc to see - I don't want to delete or mess up what they need to see.

Hello. Yes, it should, however to be safe you can just copy the data off of your card into a folder on your computer as a backup. That way if something happens, you can copy the data back to the card.
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2013 12:23 PM by Paptillian.)
08-01-2013 12:12 PM
Find all posts by this user
RonWessels Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 465
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #389
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
Hi Paptillion. I have to ask - in the "Select Data Type to Download" window, why haven't you checked "Set these as my default options"?
08-01-2013 12:50 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Paptillian Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 474
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 10, EPR x2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post: #390
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 4.3)
(08-01-2013 12:50 PM)RonWessels Wrote:  Hi Paptillion. I have to ask - in the "Select Data Type to Download" window, why haven't you checked "Set these as my default options"?

Good point- I think most people will want to do that just to be extra cautious.

In my experience ResScan remembers the settings for the device that is associated with the SD card, so I find that I don't need to. I suspect that if I were to insert an SD card from a different device/patient, then I'd have to re-enter the settings. I think the option is there only because ResScan is a multi-patient monitoring tool. Dont-know
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2013 01:00 PM by Paptillian.)
08-01-2013 12:59 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Arrow [Admin Note] ResScan - [version 5.7] SuperSleeper 57 6,914 12-01-2016 12:43 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 302 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  ResScan - not supported jmitchell151 2 122 11-23-2016 11:23 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  new ResMed machine and ResScan software issue fluffyetal 1 179 11-18-2016 06:40 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  can resscan read cards from two machines whirschb 8 475 11-14-2016 04:03 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
Question ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library cobaltpanther 6 587 11-12-2016 02:19 PM
Last Post: Kitalarium
  ResScan Prometheus 4 350 11-04-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)