Thread Closed 
ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.5) [Archived Discussions]
Author Message
RosaAlbaRegalis Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Escape
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: England

Post: #871
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.1)
The software doesn't recognise the SD card. I've tried it directly in the card slot on the computer and via a card reader, but there is no recognition

The card IS unlocked, but I'm at a bit of a loss...
01-23-2015 06:25 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
RosaAlbaRegalis Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Escape
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: England

Post: #872
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.1)
(01-23-2015 06:21 PM)sgearhart Wrote:  
(01-23-2015 06:05 PM)RosaAlbaRegalis Wrote:  Hi all, I've installed the ResScan software, but It won't extract the information from my SD card. Not sure why I can't get it to work. Has anybody had similar problems?

Thinking-about

You did follow the instructions and NOT install any of the options during its install?

No, I didn't check any of the three boxes.
01-23-2015 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user
simon31 Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 80
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #873
Thumbsup RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.1)

The software is realy great. Now I can even make reports myself and also make a status of my illnes and what kind of medication I use. It's very simple.
01-24-2015 11:16 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
whitehme Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: Resmed AirSense ASV
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P eson
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 7-15 ASV
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #874
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.1)
Anyone seen version 5.2 yet?
01-24-2015 11:31 AM
Find all posts by this user
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,967
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #875
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.2)
(01-24-2015 11:31 AM)whitehme Wrote:  Anyone seen version 5.2 yet?

ResScan Version 5.2 is now the current version being distributed by healthcareworker - see this thread for download info:

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...hines-only

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

01-24-2015 03:30 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 879
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #876
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 3.16) [copied from old forum]
(02-23-2012 01:27 AM)SuperSleeper Wrote:  Yes, any SD card will work, I think it needs to be at least as large as the one that comes with the machine, which is either 2 or 4 GB, if I'm not mistaken.

While it appears that any SD card will work, at their web site Resmed has some very strong language warning against using anything other than their card. They claim this has something to do with space constraints and approval of the device.

Right now I have little choice since the write protect tab fell off the Resmed and the local supplier has no cards except those that come in the machines. I am actually using a 4 gigabyte micro SD in an adaptor. It seems to work well at home but when I took it into my supplier their computer failed to read it.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
01-24-2015 04:09 PM
Find all posts by this user
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,967
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #877
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 3.16) [copied from old forum]
(01-24-2015 04:09 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  While it appears that any SD card will work, at their web site Resmed has some very strong language warning against using anything other than their card

Well, ResMed wants to sell you a ResMed-branded SD card. They make more money that way. They make no money when you purchase an off-the-shelf memory card.

Quote: It seems to work well at home but when I took it into my supplier their computer failed to read it.

Also, your DME Supplier wants you to purchase a ResMed-branded SD card as well (from them), so they make money from you.

I think the "problem" that a DME would have in reading your card is that they can't make money when you purchase an SD card for $10 off the Internet. And, sometimes, patients purchase the wrong type of SD card (too high of a speed class perhaps). DMEs are notorious for telling outright lies to make more money (saying, "we can't read your card, you need a ResMed-brand card so we can read it"). If they were wanting to get you the best deal, they'd say "Go to Amazon and pay $10 for a 4 GB Class 2 SD card".

As long as it's the same speed class of SD card as the original that came with the machine, you should have no problem and neither should the DME - even the newer SD card readers are backwards-compatible with the slower, older lower-capacity SD cards (like the 4 GB SDHC FAT32 cards shipped with the CPAP machines, which I think are Class 2 cards). These cards are still available on Amazon for less than $10 usually.

From ResMed's own website (here) they indicate it's not a compatibility issue at all - but a "safety" issue - which in plain English means that ResMed only recommends cards that have been been "tested and validated to work with ResMed machines". In other words, only their cards have been tested to work with their machines, which conveniently gives them more revenue. Of course they don't mention that they haven't bothered to test any other non-ResMed SD cards. Oh-jeez

As our friend Archangle likes to say, "If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check for yourself".

Eat-popcorn

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

01-24-2015 04:21 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 879
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #878
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 3.16) [copied from old forum]
(01-24-2015 04:21 PM)SuperSleeper Wrote:  
(01-24-2015 04:09 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  While it appears that any SD card will work, at their web site Resmed has some very strong language warning against using anything other than their card

Well, ResMed wants to sell you a ResMed-branded SD card. They make more money that way. They make no money when you purchase an off-the-shelf memory card.

This is what I assumed, but my local supplier says they will replace the card at no cost. She is waiting for a supply of spare cards since if they only get cards with the machine they won't have spare cards to test with. Meanwhile I am using my own card.

Quote:
Quote: It seems to work well at home but when I took it into my supplier their computer failed to read it.

Also, your DME Supplier wants you to purchase a ResMed-branded SD card as well (from them), so they make money from you.

Well as I said they say they will replace it at no cost. Of course I paid an arm and a leg (or at least Blue Cross did) so they can presumably afford it.

The local supplier uses Resmed's clinicians software which is actually a web app that runs in a browser. She was able to get the data form Resmed's database directly anyway and didn't need the card.

Quote:From ResMed's own website (here) they indicate it's not a compatibility issue at all - but a "safety" issue - which in plain English means that ResMed only recommends cards that have been been "tested and validated to work with ResMed machines". In other words, only their cards have been tested to work with their machines, which conveniently gives them more revenue. Of course they don't mention that they haven't bothered to test any other non-ResMed SD cards.


That would be similar to my interpretation, but the point that users be aware of is that this language would probably give them an excuse to void any warranty if you used another card in the machine.

I am not lying awake worrying about the machine bursting into flame, but I just thought user should be aware of ResMed's position and make up their own minds.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
01-24-2015 06:11 PM
Find all posts by this user
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,967
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #879
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 3.16) [copied from old forum]
Yep, makes sense.

(01-24-2015 06:11 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  Well as I said they say they will replace it at no cost. Of course I paid an arm and a leg (or at least Blue Cross did) so they can presumably afford it.

Brick-and-mortar DMEs survive from creating "billable" events - I can pretty much guarantee that they will bill Blue Cross for the cost of the replacement SD card, or do a charge-back to the ResMed supplier for the cost of a defective card. You might not have pay for it outright, but you can be sure that the DME will recover their costs; DMEs hardly ever suck it up and pay for defective products or replacement parts out of the goodness of their hearts. The individual RTs or clerks may seem understanding, but the business owners and managers instruct their billing departments to bill someone for every little thing that goes out of the doors. That's just the way they work. In the end, you do end up paying for everything, either directly or via your insurance premiums.

Dealing with insurance companies and Medicare is what makes brick-and-mortar DMEs more expensive. Online DMEs (like many on the forum Supplier List) don't have the added expense of having to deal with insurance companies directly; therefore their costs are much lower and you'll see CPAPs and supplies much cheaper than that which a "normal" DME charges.

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

01-24-2015 08:26 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Chamomile Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: Autoset 10 for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #880
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.2)
What is sleepy Head? I have only used ResScan. Does sleepy Head work with the Autoset 10?
01-24-2015 09:59 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Arrow [Admin Note] ResScan - [version 5.7] SuperSleeper 57 7,075 12-01-2016 12:43 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 330 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  ResScan - not supported jmitchell151 2 131 11-23-2016 11:23 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  new ResMed machine and ResScan software issue fluffyetal 1 189 11-18-2016 06:40 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  can resscan read cards from two machines whirschb 8 491 11-14-2016 04:03 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
Question ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library cobaltpanther 6 594 11-12-2016 02:19 PM
Last Post: Kitalarium
  ResScan Prometheus 4 359 11-04-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)