Thread Closed 
ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.5) [Archived Discussions]
Author Message
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,973
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #901
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 11:25 AM)gulfjack Wrote:  My wife got a ResMed air sense 10 this week. We only have two nights on it. I downloaded the new version of ResScan as per the instructions. The only thing I can bring up is the Statistics and summary graphs, no detail graphs and no print option. Any ideas why? I am running win 7 64 bit.
Jack

Did you forget to enable "detailed data" or "all data" as described in this post, perhaps?"

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...398#pid398

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

03-04-2015 11:38 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #902
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 11:25 AM)gulfjack Wrote:  My wife got a ResMed air sense 10 this week. We only have two nights on it. I downloaded the new version of ResScan as per the instructions. The only thing I can bring up is the Statistics and summary graphs, no detail graphs and no print option. Any ideas why? I am running win 7 64 bit.

We need more information. The Resmed Airsense 10 is not a single machine, it is a series of about four machines. We need to know exactly which one you have as some in the series do not provide full data.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
03-04-2015 11:45 AM
Find all posts by this user
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,330
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #903
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 11:25 AM)gulfjack Wrote:  My wife got a ResMed air sense 10 this week. We only have two nights on it. I downloaded the new version of ResScan as per the instructions. The only thing I can bring up is the Statistics and summary graphs, no detail graphs and no print option. Any ideas why? I am running win 7 64 bit.
Jack

Aside of changing the download options in ResScan, on my S9 I had to turn on the "Sleep Quality" option. Since the S9 and AS10 are kiss'in cousins, you might have this option in the setup menu.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
03-04-2015 12:58 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Chamomile Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: Autoset 10 for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #904
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(02-23-2015 01:40 AM)vsheline Wrote:  
(02-22-2015 08:59 AM)Chamomile Wrote:  My Dr. had wondered if I also have Central Apnea, and the new machine does identify the difference, showing instances of Central Apnea, which is good to know (although a little scary)
However, the software has a couple glitches that the older version did not have.
1. the mask fit is always a happy face on the machine, even tho the data shows massive leaking on many nights
2. The RESCAN software does not automatically update the data set shown on screen when the date selection is changed. It displays the same data previously viewed, and I have to click back and forth a couple times for it to update the data display (in stats tab) for the new date.
3. I had one night when it did not record any events of any kind for the entire night, and knowing my own 6 year history, I know that is not possible, so this glitch I find quite troubling, and more serious than the others.



Hi Chamomile, welcome to the forum.

A few centrals an hour are usually nothing to be concerned about. Centrals, especially if short, like 20 seconds, are not harder on our system than obstructive apneas, perhaps less stressful.

If the CAI (average number of central apneas per hr) is around 5 or higher, this would be excessive, in my view, and of concern. Sometimes lowering the Max Pressure setting may tend to reduce our CAI, but may worsen our RDI (Respiratory Disturbance Index, the average per hour of the total of apneas, hypopneas and RERA events).

The Mask Fit happy face should always appear, as long as your unintended Leak was less than 24 L/m for at least 70% of the night. This could allow quite a lot of leaking and still report the happy face. This is not a bug. It is a feature. Helps patients not get discouraged and give up too soon.

I suppose an occasional zero AHI might well be completely valid. The AirSense 10 may be more proactive in raising the pressure than your S8 (AutoSet?) machine, perhaps thus avoiding all AHI events.

If you also had no Respiratory Effort-Related Arousal (RERA) events, then your RDI (Respiratory Disturbance Index) would also have been zero.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Thank you for your feedback. regarding the leakage, the issue is the happy face shows even when the 95 percent figure is in the 30+ range.
03-04-2015 02:12 PM
Find all posts by this user
Chamomile Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: Autoset 10 for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #905
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 11:25 AM)gulfjack Wrote:  My wife got a ResMed air sense 10 this week. We only have two nights on it. I downloaded the new version of ResScan as per the instructions. The only thing I can bring up is the Statistics and summary graphs, no detail graphs and no print option. Any ideas why? I am running win 7 64 bit.
Jack

I marked mine to download all detail data, and each time I click on detail for a particlar date it finds it, no problem.
03-04-2015 02:15 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #906
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 02:12 PM)Chamomile Wrote:  
(02-23-2015 01:40 AM)vsheline Wrote:  The Mask Fit happy face should always appear, as long as your unintended Leak was less than 24 L/m for at least 70% of the night. This could allow quite a lot of leaking and still report the happy face. This is not a bug. It is a feature. Helps patients not get discouraged and give up too soon.

Thank you for your feedback. regarding the leakage, the issue is the happy face shows even when the 95 percent figure is in the 30+ range.

If your 95% Leak was 30+, this means that at least 95% of the time your Leak was at OR BELOW 30+ Liter per minute. Which also means your Leak was at or above 30+ Liter/minute for at least 5% of the time.

Since Mr Happy Face appeared, this means your Leak was at or below 24 L/min at least 70% of the time. Which also means your Leak was above 24 L/min for not more than 30% of the time.

These can both be true. There is no contradiction here.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 03-06-2015 02:45 AM by vsheline.)
03-06-2015 02:43 AM
Find all posts by this user
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #907
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 02:12 PM)Chamomile Wrote:  Thank you for your feedback. regarding the leakage, the issue is the happy face shows even when the 95 percent figure is in the 30+ range.

As Vaughn explained, you can get the Happy Face and still have significant leakage that adversely affects your therapy, quality of sleep, or both. Basically, if you get the Frowny Face you know you have leak issues. If you get the Happy Face you know you have to check with the software to see if you have significant periods of large leak.

To do this you look at the statistics, but I find it's better to also look at the leak graphs. This is what I do. In ResScan I set both graph windows to show only the leak graph. In the upper window I set the time to span, say, 10 hours, so that I can see the entire night's leak graph. In the lower window I set the time to span, say, only one or two hours. Then I can move the slider from side to side, zooming in on the regions where I see the leak graph go way up.

I'm interested in two things. How many times during the night does the leak graph spike, and how long do the spikes last. If I have spikes that last more than a minute or two I'm concerned. I was having spikes that lasted 20 minutes or more, and I'd have several on some nights. The problem was reduced by tightening my chin strap, but I was able to finally resolve it by switching to a full face mask. The first one I tried was a big improvement, but the second one is working extremely well. I go the whole night with no major leakage.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-06-2015 11:14 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
jcarerra Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 284
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Adapt SV
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: min/max EPAP 9/15 min/max PS 4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #908
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-04-2015 02:12 PM)Chamomile Wrote:  As Vaughn explained, you can get the Happy Face and still have significant leakage that adversely affects your therapy, quality of sleep, or both. Basically, if you get the Frowny Face you know you have leak issues. If you get the Happy Face you know you have to check with the software to see if you have significant periods of large leak.

In other words, the Happy Face tells you little and is next to useless.
In my opinion, that is a design flaw--or at the least, a design inadequacy.
03-06-2015 11:29 AM
Find all posts by this user
OldDog Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #909
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
I have a S9 AutoSet CPAP. I have downloaded the ResScan software and installed it using windows 8. I am running on a Apple MacBook Pro with Parallels software manager running Windows 8. The program seems to start just fine and I am able to set myself up as a patient. I have no problems running other software in Windows and can see the SD card through Windows Explorer but for some reason the ResScan software cannot find the ResMed disc when it is installed in the the SD port. I get the following message when I try to load the data from my ResMed SD card. 'Connect a flow generator or data card and try again'. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks, OldDog
03-09-2015 04:55 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,330
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #910
RE: ResScan CPAP Reporting Software (current version: 5.3)
(03-09-2015 04:55 PM)OldDog Wrote:  I have a S9 AutoSet CPAP. I have downloaded the ResScan software and installed it using windows 8. I am running on a Apple MacBook Pro with Parallels software manager running Windows 8. The program seems to start just fine and I am able to set myself up as a patient. I have no problems running other software in Windows and can see the SD card through Windows Explorer but for some reason the ResScan software cannot find the ResMed disc when it is installed in the the SD port. I get the following message when I try to load the data from my ResMed SD card. 'Connect a flow generator or data card and try again'. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks, OldDog

Welcome to the forum!
The first thing that comes to mind is during installation you selected an option. For ResScan to work, you can't select any options during the install. If you did that you will need to uninstall ResScan and reinstall it. . .without any options.

I hope this works for you.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
03-09-2015 05:49 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResScan - not supported jmitchell151 3 167 12-06-2016 07:17 PM
Last Post: jmitchell151
Arrow [Admin Note] ResScan - [version 5.7] SuperSleeper 57 7,261 12-01-2016 12:43 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 351 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  new ResMed machine and ResScan software issue fluffyetal 1 201 11-18-2016 06:40 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  can resscan read cards from two machines whirschb 8 498 11-14-2016 04:03 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
Question ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library cobaltpanther 6 604 11-12-2016 02:19 PM
Last Post: Kitalarium
  ResScan Prometheus 4 369 11-04-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)