Post Reply 
ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
Author Message
cobaltpanther Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed AirSense 10
CPAP Pressure: 15.6 - 18
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: New York (state not city)

Post: #1
Question ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
i have been using ResScan since the end of January with no problems. All of a sudden at the beginning of this month (May) i received the following message when i tried to open ResScan.
UNABLE TO DETECT DEVICE COMMUNICATIONS LIBRARY. PLEASE REINSTALL RESSCAN TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM. i have tried to reinstall multiple times and the program is still a no go. i have tried to research the forum for a solution but although i found the problem listed i was unable to find a solution. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Also, in case you were wondering, i did not load any of the drivers during install.
Thanks
05-15-2016 12:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,332
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #2
RE: ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
By any chance did you upgrade your OS or install updates?

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
(This post was last modified: 05-15-2016 12:33 PM by Crimson Nape.)
05-15-2016 12:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
cobaltpanther Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed AirSense 10
CPAP Pressure: 15.6 - 18
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: New York (state not city)

Post: #3
RE: ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
(05-15-2016 12:32 PM)Crimson Nape Wrote:  By any chance did you upgrade your OS or install updates?

i did not upgrade my OS but i have installed Windows updates since i first installed program. Do you think one of the updates may have messed with the program? If so, why will it not fix itself when i reinstall?Huh Some days i really do hate computers.
05-15-2016 01:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpApn001 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2016

Machine: none
Mask Type: Not using mask
Mask Make & Model: none
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: none
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
Hi, I'm having the same problem. Does anyone know how to fix this?
09-03-2016 04:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpApn001 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2016

Machine: none
Mask Type: Not using mask
Mask Make & Model: none
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: none
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA

Post: #5
RE: ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
ResScan installation guidance from ResMed states ResScan 5.6 only works with Windows 7.0 and above:

"ResScan can be installed on Windows 7 Professional 32 and 64 bit, Windows 7 Home Premium 32 and 64 bit, Windows Server 2008 or Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 8.1 Enterprise, Windows 8.1 Professional, Windows 8.1 Home Premium, Windows 10 Enterprise, Windows 10 Professional, Windows 10 Home."

My installation was on an old PC based on Windows Vista. I did not encounter the same issue after installing on a Windows 10 PC.
09-03-2016 08:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,974
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
If anyone wants one of the older ResScan versions, once you've received the download location (see here for instructions), simply change the current version number to the one you want in the web address (change 5.6 to 5.4 or whatever).

I'm not sure which version of ResScan is fully compatible with WindowsXP or Vista however... perhaps someone here knows for sure.

Coffee

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

09-03-2016 11:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kitalarium Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2016

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel FlexiFit 431
Humidifier: HumidAir Heated
CPAP Pressure: 4-7
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: United States

Post: #7
RE: ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library
Gentle Greetings,

I am having this same problem with ResScan 5.6.0.9419 on Windows 10 with a generic USB adapter card reader.

I have tried reinstalling ResScan multiple times. I have tried running setup and the app as administrator. Same error.

I did not initially install any of the ResMed drivers. After many attempts, I tried the S8/S9 driver hoping it might be generic enough to work. It did not help.

I searched through the forum for answers and did not find any. One post mentioned setting the drive letter in the profile in ResScan, but I did not find that option.

I was so glad to find this forum today and thought I was so close to being able to view my own data. After hours of effort, no success.

Any help would be most appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Kit
11-12-2016 02:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResScan - not supported jmitchell151 3 186 12-06-2016 07:17 PM
Last Post: jmitchell151
Arrow [Admin Note] ResScan - [version 5.7] SuperSleeper 57 7,317 12-01-2016 12:43 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 370 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  new ResMed machine and ResScan software issue fluffyetal 1 206 11-18-2016 06:40 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  can resscan read cards from two machines whirschb 8 499 11-14-2016 04:03 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  ResScan Prometheus 4 380 11-04-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
Idea WiFi SD Card Data-transfer to ResScan & SH for The Rest of Us Papit 57 9,988 10-30-2016 10:59 AM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)