Post Reply 
ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
Author Message
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #1
ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
I have been using ResScan since I started therapy in July. I've noticed that everyone seems to prefer Sleepyhead, and judging from the screenshots I've seen, it actually does look a little more user friendly.

My question is this - does anyone know if my ResScan database is compatible with Sleepyhead? I was able to locate my ResScan database in Windows, and every day of data has its own file with the extension ".rlk"

Any guidance from an experienced software wizard would be appreciated. I suppose I can also just create my own Sleepyhead database by rereading my SD card, but I doubt all my detailed historical data will still be present on the card since it obviously only holds so much data.
12-18-2015 04:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #2
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
@Possum - I got my AS10 back in late February. Its 2GB card is half full and still has all its detailed data -- I just created a new profile and re-read my SD card. All the flow data shows up, no problem, way back to the very first day.
Given that, I wouldn't bother trying to create a conversion program.
12-18-2015 06:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #3
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
(12-18-2015 06:14 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  @Possum - I got my AS10 back in late February. Its 2GB card is half full and still has all its detailed data -- I just created a new profile and re-read my SD card. All the flow data shows up, no problem, way back to the very first day.
Given that, I wouldn't bother trying to create a conversion program.

Thanks for your response. That's interesting! According to Windows, my ResScan database is already 2.5 GB, and that is only for 5 months of detailed data. Maybe the raw data is more condensed, and once you transform it into a database it expands? I don't know - not really a computer / programmer kinda guy.
12-18-2015 06:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #4
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
It's quite possible that the database was created with lots of empty space, much as a bound notebook has lots of blank pages.

You could look at the SD card with Windows File Explorer. Look for the SD card in Your(My?) Computer, and select Properties after right-clicking it. It will tell you how much free space is available.
12-18-2015 06:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,329
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #5
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
Possum,
Short answer; No.

The .rlk files are the processed data from ResScan. The raw data file extensions are ".edf" and a ".crc". There are 8 files for each session (normally), 4 main file types, BRP, PLD,SAD, and EVE, each having a .edf and .crc component. SleepyHead uses these raw data files and backs them up to folders named for each year the data was recorded.

My recommendation would be to create a directory on your computer and copy the SD card each time you download the data for safe keeping. SD cards have been known to go south in a heartbeat.

Unfortunately, ResScan will only acquire data from a drive that has nothing else on it. This excludes using a directory for the ResScan making you use the SD card. SleepyHead, on the other hand, could care less where it reads the data from and will easily use the backup directory without any complaints.

If you plan on preforming a daily data dump, you might look into a wireless SD card for your AS10. The SD card slots do take a little wear each time the card is removed and reinserted. The wireless card along with one of the free download programs, written by 2 of the forum's members, makes for a very effortless operation. This will work for SleepyHead. For ResScan, you will use your normal SD card and copy the backup directory to the SD card when you want to run ResScan.

I hope this may help.
-Red

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
12-18-2015 06:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #6
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
I replaced my Resmed SD card with a flashair and put the Resmed card into my computer. I use one of the utilities to grab the files off the wifi card and copy them directly to the Resmed SD card. SleepyHead reads the SD card and copies the data to it's own folder and by default will make a backup of your SD card unless you disable that in prefs. This lets me run ResScan without having to worry about moving files around.

In Windows, Sleepyhead puts the backup in Documents\SleepyHeadData-Testing\Profiles\profileName\cpapMachine_serialnumber



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
12-18-2015 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
(12-18-2015 04:56 PM)Possum Wrote:  , but I doubt all my detailed historical data will still be present on the card since it obviously only holds so much data.
AirSense 10 SD card stores up to 365 days of summary and therapy data
30 days of detailed data and 30 days of flow data (not CPAP model)
12-18-2015 08:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #8
RE: ResScan database compatible with Sleepyhead?
Zonk, as I mentioned above, I created a new profile and then read my regular SD card into it. When I examined the flow waveform for 26Febryary2015 it had all the data that is on my original profile that I've been using since February. What am I missing? Is it ResScan that only looks back 30 days? The Sleepyhead data seems complete for all ten months.
12-18-2015 08:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResScan - not supported jmitchell151 3 162 12-06-2016 07:17 PM
Last Post: jmitchell151
Arrow [Admin Note] ResScan - [version 5.7] SuperSleeper 57 7,221 12-01-2016 12:43 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 346 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  new ResMed machine and ResScan software issue fluffyetal 1 198 11-18-2016 06:40 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  can resscan read cards from two machines whirschb 8 494 11-14-2016 04:03 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
Question ResScan=Unable to detect device communications library cobaltpanther 6 602 11-12-2016 02:19 PM
Last Post: Kitalarium
  ResScan Prometheus 4 361 11-04-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)